Gosnell, Pearson Top Laughlin U.S. Hare Scrambles Championship

Mark Kariya | February 24, 2014
  David Pearson  pictured  and Matt Gosnell topped the 2014 edition of the Laughlin Hare Scrambles. Photography by Mark Kariya

David Pearson (pictured) and Matt Gosnell took top honors at the Laughlin U.S. Hare Scrambles team race. Photography by Mark Kariya

Matt Gosnell and David Pearson combined efforts to win the GPR Stabilizers Laughlin U.S. Hare Scrambles Championship team race in Laughlin, Nevada, February 22. The race was round two the Best in the Desert’s American Off-Road Racing Series.

It was a close race, with the Gosnell and Pearson team actually being on the second bike to cross the finish line, but when you factor in the two-minute starting deficit, the Western Design Racing/THR Motorsports/Monster Energy team (Gosnell and Pearson) managed to edge out the THR Motorsports/Monster Energy/Precision Concepts Team of Ryan Abbatoye and Ricky Brabec by about a minute and a half.

Abbatoye was a last-minute replacement for Robby Bell on the Brabec Kawasaki. Bell was injured a few days before the race and chose to sit this one out to heal up, handing his spot to Abbatoye.

With the end of the race rapidly approaching, the Gosnell/Pearson team played it safe, choosing to hang right behind the dust of the Abbatoye/Brabec Kawasaki KX450F and not risk a pass, knowing they were within the two-minute comfort zone.

Third overall went to Purvines Racing Beta’s Nick Burson and Axel Pearson. A damaged rear brake had the team finishing a few minutes down on the two bikes ahead of them.

Fourth overall went to 30-Plus Pro winners Zip-Ty Husqvarna’s Ty Davis and Kellon Walch.

Yamaha-mounted Ryan Smith and Nic Garvin, the 250 Pro-class winners, rounded out the top five overall.



1. Matt Gosnell/David Pearson (Kaw)

2. Ryan Abbatoye/Ricky Brabec (Kaw)

3. Nick Burson/Axel Pearson (Beta)

4. Ty Davis/Kellon Walch (Hus)

5. Ryan Smith/Nic Garvin (Yam)

6. Kelly Morgan/Justin Morgan

7. Jordan Kundert/Blake Stouard

8. Matt Canepa/John Harbauer

9. Mason Partain/Kris Nelson

10. Nick Tichenor/Stephan Tichenor


Mark Kariya | Contributor

Kariya spends way too much time in the desert, but we’re glad he does as he’s the man who gets us our coverage of all things sandy.