Ricky Graham Set For Motorsports Hall Of Fame Induction

Cycle News Staff | January 24, 2014
  Ricky Graham will be inducted in the Motorsports Hall of Fame this year.

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America will induct its 26th class of racing legends on Wednesday, August 6 with the list of those set to be honored including flat track legend Ricky Graham.

“Once again, the depth and breadth of American motorsports is reflected in the 2014 class of inductees,” said Ron Watson, president of the Motorsports Hall of Fame, in a release issued today.

An AMA Grand National Champion three times (1982, 1984 & 1993), Graham is considered by many to be one of the most talented dirt-track racers ever. He posted 39 career Grand National victories, seven Sportster Performance National wins and was 1993 AMA Athlete of the Year. That year, he won a record 12 races, including six straight to establish the longest winning streak in AMA Grand National history. A fifth-place in the Del Mar Mile in 1997 proved to be his final race. Graham’s life was cut short by a tragic house fire in early 1998.

Joining Graham in being inducted in 2014 are Ole Bardahl, Raymond Beadle, John Bishop, Ricky Graham, Arie Luyendyk, Marshall Teague and Rusty Wallace.

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America is racing’s Cooperstown, memorializing achievement in all forms of motorized competition. Over the years, 209 motorsports luminaries have been inducted.