Women’s Motocross Championship Expands To Eight-Round Series in 2014

Cycle News Staff | December 19, 2013
  The WMX Championship will return in 2014 as an eight-round series. Photography by Kit Palmer

The WMX Championship will be made up of an eight-round (best of six) series in 2014.

The Women’s Motocross Championship will increase to an eight-round series in 2014 that will see the women racers competing in conjunction with some of the premier amateur motocross events through out the country. In 2013, there were three WMX rounds and, in the past, were usually held in conjunction with the outdoor National MX Pro series.

The opening round of the WMX Series will take place during the Ricky Carmichael Amateur Supercross at Daytona, March 9-10. After that, the series will head to Wortham, Texas, and the Freestone Spring Classic on March 22, then travel to San Bernardino, California, and Glen Helen Raceway for the California Classic on April 13, then head to Mammoth Lakes, California, for the Mammoth Mountain Motocross on June 28. The series will then visit Millington, Michigan, for the Baja Brawl, August 31; Englishtown, New Jersey for the KROC at Raceway Park, October 5, and then Blountville, Tennessee, for the Top Gun Showdown, October 19. The series will conclude on November 29 during the Winter Olympics, in Gainesville, Florida.

The 2014 championship will be determined by taking a rider’s points based on their best six of eight rounds.

“We understand that many of the WMX racers have other obligations to fulfill such as full-time jobs, which is why the premier WMX Class will race both motos on one day at each of these events, with the exception of the Daytona Amateur Supercross since it has qualifying heats and a Main Event format,” said Jeff Canfield, Director of Racing for MX Sports Pro Racing.

Riders must meet the WMX Eligibility and Criteria in order to hold a license in 2014 and all licensing must be done prior to participating an the event. For details on the eligibility and criteria, or to apply for a WMX license, visit the MX Sports website at: http://www.mxsports.com/pages/wmx/2014-wmx-supplemental-rules.

 The WMX race format will consist of two motos of 15 minutes plus one lap each (with the exception of RCSX). Scoring will be based on a combined moto format to determine the overall winner for the event, in accordance with the AMA Racing Amateur Rulebook (excepting RCSX). There will be a $2000 purse per event, paid per moto from first through tenth place.

“The new WMX format is a result of the collaborating effort of the AMA, American Motocross organizers and our OEM stakeholders,” said MX Sports Director Tim Cotter. “We are all very excited about the future of WMX.”