Jake Weimer, Dean Wilson Top Monarch Moto Super-X Invitational

Cycle News Staff | December 16, 2013
  Dean Wilson topped the Monarch Moto Pro Super-X Invitational at Milestone MX in Riverside  California. Photography by Hoppenworld.com

Dean Wilson won the 250 class at the Monarch Moto Pro Super-X Invitational at Milestone MX. Photography by Hoppenworld.com/file

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson were the big winners at the first running of the Monarch Moto Pro Super-X Invitational at Milestone MX in Riverside, California, December 14.

The new Invitational race is styled after the former GFI Perris Invitational that used to be held in nearby Perris, California, and billed as a warm-up for the upcoming AMA Supercross Series. Like the Perris race, the Monarch Moto Pro Super-X Invitational offered a $10,000 purse.

The Milestone event attracted many of the top stars in the So. Cal. area, including GEICO/Factory Connection/Honda’s Wil Hahn, Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Shane McElrath, MyPlash/Metal Mulisha/Rockstar Energy/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Cooper Webb and Slaton Yamaha’s Austin Politelli. Even former 250 Supercross Champion Jason Lawrence competed.

When it was all over, Wilson took top honors in the 250 final, taking the checkered flag ahead of a charging Webb, who fell earlier in the race. McElrath finished third.

In the 450 class, Weimer ran off with the win, followed by Hahn and BTO/KTM’s Matt Georke. Lawrence rounded out the top five.

There was also a Pro-Allstar class that was won by Yamaha rider Ryan Surratt. Luke Purther finished second, followed by Axell Hodges.]