AMA Motocross: Series Set To Start At Glen Helen

Cycle News Staff | November 7, 2013

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship will get rolling in Southern California in 2014 with the 12-round series set to open at Glen Helen Raceway in San Bernardino, California, on May 24. The series will then crisscross around the country before winding up at Miller Motorsports Park in Tooele, Utah, for the season finale on August 23.

Along the way the series will make its first stop in Indiana with the Midwest’s Indiana National serving as the new stop on the tour with the penultimate round on August 16.

Many of the series’ traditional stops return in 2014, including Hangtown, Thunder Valley, High Point, Budds Creek, RedBud, Spring Creek, Washougal and Unadilla. Additionally, the two rounds that made their debuts last year – Utah and Tennessee – are set to return to the series again next year.

“It has long been our goal to present the most legendary, spectacular tracks in American motocross on the schedule, as well as mixing in a few new facilities to add diversity to the schedule and new challenges for the best riders in the world,” said MX Sports Pro Racing President Davey Coombs. “In 2013 we presented new rounds in Tennessee and Utah, both performed even better than we hoped. Now we look forward to yet another new venue in Indiana, as well as the return of the iconic Glen Helen Raceway in Southern California as the 2014 opener. Adding those events in with such premier motocross tracks as RedBud, Unadilla, Washougal, Hangtown and more, and you have the makings of an exciting summer of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross for fans all over the country.”

 Tickets for all 12 rounds of the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship will go on sale Thursday, November 7 at

The series schedule is as follows:

May 24: Glen Helen National, San Bernardino, California

May 31: Hangtown Motocross Classic, Sacramento, California

June 7: Thunder Valley National, Lakewood, Colorado

June 14: High Point National, Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania

June 28: Tennessee National, Blountville, Tennessee

July 5: RedBud National, Buchanan, Michigan

July 12: Budds Creek National, Mechanicsville, Maryland

July 19: Spring Creek National, Millville, Minnesota

July 26: Washougal National, Washougal, Washington

August 9: Unadilla National, New Berlin, New York

August 16: Indiana National, Crawfordsville, Indiana

August 23: Utah National, Tooele, Utah