Robby Bell Clinches 2013 WORCS Championship

Cycle News Staff | September 16, 2013
  Robby Bell clinched the 2013 WORCS title at Honey Lake. Photography by Harlen Foley

Robby Bell clinched the 2013 WORCS Championship at Honey Lake. Photography by Harlen Foley

A crash, sore thumb and a bee sting could keep Kawasaki rider Robby Bell from clinching the 2013 World Off-Road Championship with one round left in the series. A second-place finish at Honey Lake MX in Milford, California, September 15, was enough for Bell to seal the deal, despite a crash while leading that injured his thumb and having to deal with a reaction to a bee sting suffered later in the race. He just enough energy left to hoist the number-one plate at the end of the day.

The Honey Lake victory, however, went to first-time WORCS winner Gary Sutherlin who stepped it up a notch on the technical track. He ended up taking the checkered flag approximately three minutes ahead of Bell.

Finishing third was Bobby Garrison who made it an all-Kawasaki podium.

KTM rider Justin Jones and Yamaha-mounted Ross Neely rounded out the top five in the Pro ranks.

KTM pilot Ty Tremaine topped the Pro 2 class over Eric Yorba (KTM) and Starr Savage (KTM), while Kawasaki rider Steve Gibson came out on top of the Pro 2 Lites division.

2013 Honey Lake WORCS Results

Milford, California

September 15, 2013


1. Gary Sutherlin (Kaw)

2. Robby Bell (Kaw)

3. Bobby Garrison (Kaw)

4. Justin Jones (KTM)

5. Ross Neely (Yam)


1. Ty Tremaine (KTM)

2. Eric Yorba (KTM)

3. Starr Savage (KTM)

4. Joey Fiasconaro (KTM)

5. Steven Godman (Yam)


1. Steve Gibson (Kaw)

2. Brandon Roberts (KTM)

3. Mitch Anderson  (Kaw)

4. Alex Morgan (Hon)

5. Tristen Morris (Kaw)