Kailub Russell Wins Fourth Straight GNCC At Unadilla

Cycle News Staff | September 9, 2013
  Kailub Russell claimed his fourth consecutive win at the Unadilla GNCC. Photography by Ken Hill.

Kailub Russell took over the GNCC points lead with his fourth straight win. Photography by Ken Hill

The second half of the AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series got underway at the legendary Unadilla Raceway in New Berlin, New York, August 8, with FMF/KTM teammates Kailub Russell and Charlie Mullins resuming their battle for the 2013 GNCC Championship. Russell and Mullins went into the race deadlocked for the points lead, but Russell broke the tie with a narrow win over Mullins. How narrow? By just two seconds after three hours of racing. And it was even closer between Mullins and third-place finisher Josh Strang, who crossed the finish line just one second behind Mullins. It was one of the most exciting races of the year.

The win puts Russell, who has won the last four GNCC races, two points up on Mullins with three rounds left on the schedule.

Russell and Mullins got away right from the get-go, while Strang, on the Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Kawasaki, worked his way to the front, finishing off the race with an impressive last-lap charge on the two KTM riders.

Fourth place went to FMF/RPM/KTM Team Maxxis’ Rory Mead. It was his best finish of the season.

Fifth overall went to XC2-class winner Andrew DeLong on the F.A.R. Husqvarna. It was his second race back from injury and his fourth of the year.

Class leader Grant Baylor got off to a fast start but fell while leading just a few turns into the race. He got up to finish fourth in class.

Second among the XC2 group went to GEICO Honda motocrosser Zach Osborne, who is tuning up for next month’s ISDE. Osborne finished a little more than two minutes behind DeLong.

Third in class went to Scott Grills, followed by Baylor and Shane Hufford.

Baylor still has a comfortable lead in the XC2 Championship over Jason Thomas (227-190), who suffered mechanical problems and finished a distant 22nd.

North Carolina’s Trevor Bollinger grabbed another victory in the Four-Stroke A Lites class, also securing the Top Amateur Award with 20th overall for the day. The next-best finishing amateur rider was 250 A winner Dylan Macritchie in 23rd overall.


2013 Amsoil GNCC Series

Can-Am Unadilla GNCC

New Berlin, New York (Round 10 of 13)

August 8, 2013

1. Kailub Russell (KTM)

2. Charlie Mullins (KTM)

3. Josh Strang (Kaw)

4. Rory Mead (KTM)

5. Jordan Ashburn (Yam)

6. Jonathan Girroir (KTM)

7. Chris Bach (KTM)

8. Ricky Russell (Yam)

9. Thad DuVall (Hon)

10.Takeshi Koikeda (Hon)


1. Andrew DeLong (Hus)

2. Zach Osborne (Hon)

3. Scott Grills (Kaw)

4. Grant Baylor (KTM)

5. Shane Hufford Jr. (KTM)

6. Jesse Groemm (KTM)

7. Ian Blythe (KTM)

8. Jason Klammer (KTM)

9. Layne Michael (KTM)

10. Sam Evans (KTM)

XC1 Series Standings:

1. Kailub Russell (260)

2. Charlie Mullins (255)

3. Josh Strang (174)

4. Chris Bach (172)

5. Thad DuVall (169)

6. Paul Whibley (143)

7. Jordan Ashburn (139)

8. Takeshi Koikeda (125)

9. Adam Bonneur (120)

10. Rory Mead (119)

XC2 Series Standings:

1. Grant Baylor (227)

2. Jason Thomas (190)

3. Andrew DeLong (151)

4. Shane Hufford Jr (131)

5. Layne Michael (104)

6. AJ Stewart (102)

7. Travis Coy (98)

8. Scott Grills (97)

9. Zach Nolan (96)

10. Michael McGinnis (92)

Overall National Championship Standings:

1. Kailub Russell (250)

2. Charlie Mullins (248)

3. Chris Bach (163)

4. Josh Strang (143)

5. Thad DuVall (140)

6. Paul Whibley (127)

7. Grant Baylor (119)

8. Jordan Ashburn (106)

9. Jason Thomas (106)

10. Andrew DeLong (77)