Kailub Russell Claims The Gusher GNCC Win.

Cycle News Staff | September 23, 2013
  Kailub Russell won The Gusher GNCC in Pennsylvania. Photography by Ken Hill

Kailub Russell claimed his fifth straight win in the GNCC Championship in Pennsylvania. Photography by Ken Hill.

As the 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series nears its conclusion, the race for the title has been tilting in Kailub Russell’s favor as of late. The FMF/KTM factory team rider collected his fifth straight win of the season, his latest coming at the inaugural Car-Mate Gusher GNCC in Foxburg, Pennsylvania, September 22.

The race again came down to a two-rider dual between KTM teammates Russell and Charlie Mullins. The two title contenders were going at it for the win until Mullins was forced to pit with two laps to go, which gave Russell the extra breathing room he needed to go on and take the win with about 45 seconds to spare.

Shenandoah Honda/USWE-Sports.com’s Thad DuVall finished third overall after taking the checkered flag four minutes behind Mullins.

AmPro Yamaha’s Jordan Ashburn finished fourth, while XC2 Pro 2 Lites winner Andrew DeLong, on the FAR Husqvarna, rounded out the top five overall.

Kawasaki rider Josh Strang finished sixth overall (fifth XC1), followed by KTM rider Chris Bach (sixth XC1), KTM pilot Jason Thomas (second XC2 Pro Lites), Kawasaki-mounted Scott Grills (third XC2 Pro Lites), and KTM rider Shan Hufford Jr. (fourth XC2 Pro Lites).

With two rounds left on the 2013 GNCC schedule, Russell leads Mullins by seven points for the XC1 title, while Grant Baylor, who finished fifth in class in Pennsylvania, still enjoys a comfortable lead over Thomas in the XC2 Pro Lites Championship, 243-215.

North Carolina’s Trevor Bollinger grabbed another victory in the Four-Stroke A Lites class, also securing the Top Amateur Award with 13th overall for the day. Craig Delong was next closest amateur, finishing in the 20th position overall and second in the Four-Stroke A Lites class.

It was Factory FMF/KTM’s Maria Forsberg who, once again, topped the morning overall win after a hard fought battle through time adjustment with off-road racing legend Jeff Fredette, who finished about 40 seconds behind Forsberg to take second overall and first place in the Silver Masters (55+) class. Third place overall went to West Virginia native Coalton Cupp, who claimed first place in the 250 C class. FMF/RPM/KTM’s Kacy Martinez finished second in the Women’s class, while Sarah Baldwin rounded out the top three in the Women’s division.

North Carolina’s Braxton McGee topped the Youth overall podium, besting his biggest opponent in the Super Mini (14-15) class, South Carolina’s Cole Mattison, who finished second overall for the day. Indiana’s Vincent Smith secured the victory in the Super Mini (12-13) Class while taking third overall for the day.


Car-Mate Gusher GNCC

RiverStone Estate – Foxburg, Pa.

Round 11 of 13

Sunday, September 22

XC1 Event Results:

1. Kailub Russell (KTM)

2. Charlie Mullins (KTM)

3. Thad DuVall (Hon)

4. Jordan Ashburn (Yma)

5. Josh Strang (Kaw)

6. Chris Bach (KTM)

7. Takeshi Koikeda (Hon)

8. Adam Bonneur (Kaw)

9. Rory Mead (KTM)

10. Mark Fortner (Beta)

*Overall National Championship Standings:

1. Kailub Russell (280)

2. Charlie Mullins (273)

3. Chris Bach (177)

4. Thad DuVall (161)

5. Josh Strang (158)

6. Grant Baylor (129)

7. Paul Whibley (127)

8. Jordan Ashburn (124)

9. Jason Thomas (119)

10. Andrew DeLong (93)

*Indicates that the Overall National Championship Standings will determine the 2013 National Champion.

XC2 Event Results:

1. Andrew DeLong (Hus)

2. Jason Thomas (KTM)

3. Scott Grills (Kaw)

4. Shane Hufford Jr (KTM)

5. Grant Baylor (KTM)

6. Chris Douglas (Hus)

7. Sam Evans (KTM)

8. Nick Davis (Hus)

9. Ryan Lojak (Yam)

10. Zach Love (KTM)

XC2 Series Standings:

1. Grant Baylor (243)

2. Jason Thomas (215)

3. Andrew DeLong (181)

4. Shane Hufford Jr (149)

5. Scott Grills (118)

6. Travis Coy (106)

7. Samuel Evans (105)

8. Layne Michael (104)

9. AJ Stewart (102)

10. Chris Douglas (101)