Team USA Finds Gold At FIM Jr. MX World Championship

Cycle News Staff | August 12, 2013
Aiden Tijero wins the 65cc FIM Junior Motocross Championship at Jinin  Czech Republic. Photography By J.R. Acevedo

Aiden Tijero wins the 65cc FIM Junior Motocross Championship at Jinin, Czech Republic. PHOTOGRAPHY BY J.R. ACEVEDO

The Monster Energy FIM Junior Motocross World Championship at Jinin, Czech Republic, August 10-11, produced gold for Team USA. The U.S. team and one of its star riders in the 65cc class, Aiden Tijero, were both crowned champions for 2013.

The Junior Motocross World Championship utilizes a three-class format – 65cc, 85cc and 125cc – where young amateur motocrossers from around the world compete for both class and team titles in the two-moto format event.

Tijero had an impressive ride in the 65cc class. His 1-2 earned him the class title and helped give Team USA the overall win over the Czech Republic and Spain.

Finishing behind the young American from California in the 65cc class was Sweden’s Anton Nagy (3-3) and Czech Republic’s Petr Polak (2-4).

Fellow American Sean Cantrell also won his first moto in the 85cc class, but a broken chain in the second moto forced him to retire and ruined his shot at the class championship, which ended up going to Great Britain’s Conrad Mewes, who finished second in both motos. Beating Mewes in moto two was Australia’s Hunter Lawrence, who finished second overall with a 4-1 tally.

Jakub Teresak got another podium for the Czech Republic, his 3-4 giving him third overall.

Team USA’s Chase Sexton finished fourth overall with an 8-3.

Pauls Jonass from Latvia finished with a 1-2 tally in the125cc class, adding a second World Title to his 85cc Championship of 2011. The highest finishing American in the 125cc class was Jarek Balkovic who ended up sixth overall with an 8-8.

2013 FIM Jr. MX World Championship Results

65cc Overall:

1. Aiden Tijero (USA, KTM)

2. Anton Nagy (SWE, KTM)

3. Petr Polak (CZE, KTM)

4. Raivo Dankers (NED, KTM)

5. Jo Shimoda (JPN, KTM)

6. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM)

7. Hardy Munoz (CHL, KTM)

8. Maxim Kraev (RUS, KTM)

9. Timur Petrashin (RUS, KTM)

10. Daniel Stehlik (CZE, KTM)

85cc Overall:

1. Conrad Mewse (GBR, KTM)

2. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, KTM)

3. Jakub Teresak (CZE, KTM)

4. Chase Sexton (USA, Yamaha)

5. Glen Meier (DEN, KTM)

6. Jorge Prado Garcia (ESP, KTM)

7. Gianluca Facchetti (ITA, Suzuki)

8. Sean Cantrell (USA, Kawasaki)

9. Tomás Kohut (SVK, KTM)

10. Filippo Grigoletto (ITA, KTM)

125cc Overall:

1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM)

2. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM)

3. Nicolas Dercourt (FRA, Yamaha)

4. Jorge Zaragoza (ESP, Suzuki)

5. Davide Bonini (ITA, KTM)

6. Jarek Balkovic (USA, Yamaha)

7. Lorenco Locurcio (VEN, Yamaha)

8. Kade Tinkler (CAN, Suzuki)

9. Davy Pootjes (NED, KTM)

10. Brian Hsu (GER, Suzuki)

Nations Overall:

1. USA

2. Czech Republic

3. Spain

4. Sweden

5. Italy