Taddy Blazusiak Earns Enduro X Gold at X Games Los Angeles

Cycle News Staff | August 4, 2013

Poland’s Taddy Blazusiak has dominated EnduroCross for the last four years with consecutive GEICO AMA EnduroCross championships matched with Super Enduro championships in Europe. But so far in 2013, he had only won one EnduroCross main event out of the five events counting the three X Games and two AMA rounds. But Blazusiak was back on top and earned his second Los Angeles X Games Enduro X gold medal in three years by riding a flawless main event.

Mike Brown, winner of three main events this year applied heavy pressure on Blazusiak in the early going but a mistake allowed Lucas Oil JCR Honda backed Colton Haaker to take over second. Haaker was on the move and closed to the rear wheel of Blazusiak but he went down in the firewood pit. This allowed Brown and Beta’s Cody Webb by and those two battled for a few laps before Brown broke free and closed back up on Blazusiak but he had to settle for the silver medal.

Webb rode a consistent race to take the bronze medal in his first race back from a broken foot. Haaker finished fourth and Monster Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert took fifth.

2013 X Games Enduro X, Los Angeles, Men’s Final Results

1              Taddy Blazusiak

2              Mike Brown

3              Cody Webb

4              Colton Haaker

5              Taylor Robert

6              David Knight

7              Cory Graffunder

8              Justin Soule

9              Kyle Redmond

10           Gary Sutherlin

11           Destry Abbott

12           Ty Tremaine

Watch the video of the Men’s final here:

In the Women’s Enduro X, Spain’s Laia Sanz took her third X Games Gold Medal in four tries with a steady ride on her JCR Honda. KTM’s Maria Forsberg worked her way past several riders to take the silver medal. Multi time X Games Women’s Moto X gold medal winner Tarah Geiger provided a serious challenge to Sanz for the gold by using her Motocross skills to double a few sections and led several laps but multiple crashes pushed her back to the Bronze medal position.

2013 X Games Enduro X, Los Angeles, Women’s Final Results

1.            Laia Sanz

2.            Maria Forsberg

3.            Tarah Geiger

4.            Sandra Gomez Cantero

5.            Rachel Gutish

6.            Kacy Martinez

7.            Chantelle Bykerk

8.            Shelby Turner

9.            Maria Franke

10.          Lexi Pechout

Watch the video of the Women’s final here:


The GEICO AMA EnduroCross series, fueled by Monster Energy and presented by Lucas Oil will resume action on Saturday, September 21st at the Citizens Business Bank Arena in Ontario, California