Amateur Motocross: First Championships Wrapped Up at Loretta Lynn’s

Cycle News Staff | August 3, 2013
  Mitchell Harrison captured the Supermini 1  12-15  Championship at Loretta Lynns. Photography by Kit Palmer

Mitchell Harrison wrapped up the Supermini 1 (12-15) Championship after winning the final moto.

Day four of the 32nd Annual Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL wrapped up its second set of motos on Friday at the Loretta Lynn Ranch. The day was a jam-packed full of racing as 20 National Champions emerged after three hard fought motos.

Just before the champions began to be crowned, the remaining classes ran through their second set of motos before an additional 16 champions will be crowned on Saturday afternoon. Michael Mitchell kicked off the day with a moto-two win in the Vet B/C (30+) class, marking his second straight win in the class. Moto two runner-up Chad Murphy had an impressive ride but an unfortunate DNF in the opening moto will keep Murphy from challenging the title.

Dean Spangler topped the Two-Stroke B/C (16+) division with Josh Cartwright (51) close behind. Spangler has gone 1-3 so far, while Cartwright sits with a 15-2 score and Jerry Robin sits 1-5 with one moto left to go on Saturday.

Tyler McSwain extended his two-race winning streak in the 450 B class and things are looking good for him heading into tomorrow’s finale.

Luke Renzland led every lap in moto two of the 450 A class, despite Jace Owen’s early pressure for the lead. Renzland eventually pulled a gap on Owen where he finished over 20 seconds ahead in the second moto. Renzland and Owen sit tied in points as they head into the final moto on Saturday.

Austin Forkner got out front early on in moto two of the Super Mini 2 (13-16) class, but Mitchell Harrison never let the leader out of his sight as the two battled for the top spot. Forkner remains undefeated in the class after two motos.

All week long it’s been a head-to-head battle between Ty Masterpool and Aiden Tijero but this time it was all Masterpool, as he bested his opponent to capture his second straight win in the 65 (7-11) class.

Keith Johnson grabbed his second moto win of the Senior (40+) class ahead of Trampas Parker with a 4-2 moto score and John Grewe with a pair of third place finishes.

Things were looking good for Jace Owen in the 250 A class but a big crash on lap four left Owen unable to finish the second moto. In the meantime, a battle ensued between Shane McElrath and Matt Bisceglia for the lead position. In the end, McElrath was able to hold off Bisceglia to take the second-moto win and put an end to Bisceglia’s undefeated record so far at the Ranch.

The first National Champion crowned for 2013 was 250 C winner Tauan Brenner. Brenner captured the overall with a moto score of 6-4-2.

Heading into the final moto of the Vet (35+) class, professional motocross icons Timmy Ferry and Robbie Reynard were tied for points with one win apiece. The highly anticipated moto three showcased an epic battle between Reynard and Ferry as the duo finished only three seconds apart for the National Championship with Reynard coming out on top.

The Mini Sr. (12-14) class produced three different winners over three motos but only one rider emerged victorious at the end of the week and that was Joey Crown with a moto score of 2-3-1.

Chase Sexton put forth a strong finish in the Mini Sr. (12-14) class to earn second overall with a 4-4-2 moto score. Moto-two winner Cameron Cannon (17) rounded out the overall podium with a 5-1-4 score for the day.

Jalek Swoll captured the 85 (9-11) Limited championship with 2-1-2 finishes all week. Although Garrett Marchbanks (82) posted more moto wins than anyone, he took in second overall with a score of 1-5-1.

Mackenzie Tricker put it on cruise control in the final moto of the Women (14+) class, where she took fourth place in the moto en route to her first-ever Loretta Lynn’s amateur championship with a 1-1-4 moto score.

Kaitlyn Morrow won the final moto in the Women’s class to boost herself into second place overall, finishing the week with 2-8-1 scores.

Ryan Surratt won the Schoolboy 2 (13-16) championship with a pair of firsts and one third throughout the moto set. Tristan Charboneau came in second with 3-4-2 and Jarek Balkovic rounded out the podium with 2-5-8.

The 450 C Champion, Derek Valenzuela, had an impressive week at the Ranch, taking the National title with a moto score of 1-1-2. Nathan Piper landed the moto three win and with 4-13 scores in the first two, Piper secured second overall for the week.

Levi Bolton went 1-2-3 for the 51 (4-6) Shaft Drive Limited Championship.

Daxton Bennick swept all three motos en route to the 51 (4-6) Special Limited

Championship. Moon Gerrits posted 6-2-2 scores to grab the second overall position and Levi Leatherman finished a consistent string with 3-3-4.

Casey Cochran finished the week on a high note as he captured the moto-three win in the 51 (4-6) Limited class en route to the National Championship. Noah Gordon won the first moto of the week and then went 5-2 to secure second overall. Haiden Deegan rounded out the overall podium with 8-1-3 finishes.

Jett Reynolds was unstoppable all week long, first capturing all three moto wins in the 51 (7-8) Limited class. Reynolds then swept the 65 (7-9) Limited class to become the first rider this year to post six total wins between two classes.

The duo of Aiden Tijero and Ty Masterpool returned to action in the 65 (10-11) class, as they finished first and second in the class. Tijero bested Masterpool this time with 4-1-1 finishes, but Masterpool put in a hard fought set of motos with 2-2-3 finishes for the week.

Aaron Plessinger had an impressive run in the 450 B Limited class sweeping all three motos of the week to capture his first National Championship of 2013. Plessinger currently sits undefeated after five motos and he looks to extend his streak tomorrow in the final moto of the 250 B class.

Mitchell Harrison posted a 1-2-1 moto score to capture the Super Mini 1 (12-15)

class championship.

Matt Bisceglia went undefeated in the Open Pro Sport class but it was a hard fought battle from Shane McElrath, who led most of moto three. McElrath slated a 3-3-2 score to finish second overall in the class, while RJ Hampshire grabbed third with 2-4-3 finishes.

Garrett Marchbanks captured the 85 (9-11) Championship with a 3-1-1 finish for the day and moto-one winner Carson Mumford (22) finished close behind in the final moto to grab second overall with 1-4-2 finishes.

Although Josh Cartwright wasn’t able to secure a moto win in the College B/C (16-24) class, his moto score of 3-3-2 was enough to capture the title. Michael Barnum’s 20th-place finish in the opening moto gave him eighth overall but the two-time moto winner proved his skills amongst the competitive field.

 Trampas Parker and John Grewe had an epic battle in the final moto of the Senior (45+) class where ultimately Grewe came out on top. However, Parker topped Grewe’s 2-2-1 finishes with a moto score of 1-1-2.

Kevin Foley topped the Masters (50+) class for the National Championship despite a second place finish behind Davis Hand in the final moto of the day.