Antonio Cairoli Wins Again At Finnish Motocross Grand Prix

Cycle News Staff | July 15, 2013

Jeffrey Herlings annihilated the MX2 class at the Finnish Grand Prix. Photography by Ray Archer/KTM Images.

For the eighth time this season, the Red Bull KTM duo of Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings swept a round of the 2013 FIM World Motocross Championship Series, this time at the Finnish Grand Prix in Hyvinkaa, Finland, July 14.

For Cairoli, the Italian captured his 62nd career GP win after winning both MX1 motos. He came from fourth in the first moto, passing Rockstar Suzuki’s Clement Desalle for the lead well into the race and taking the win six seconds ahead of the Belgian. Cairoli’s teammate, Ken de Dycker finished third ahead of Kawasaki’s Jeremy van Horebeek and Suzuki’s Kevin Strijbos.

Cairoli had it even easier in the second moto where he blasted into the early lead and never looked back, taking the win with five seconds to spar over Strijbos.

Desalle finished a close third, followed by Kawasaki’s Gautier Paulin and Van Horebeek.

De Dycker finished sixth.

Desalle completed the day second overall, with Strijbos taking third. DeDycker ended up fourth overall and Van Horebeek fifth overall.

After 12 rounds, Cairoli has a comfortable 99-point lead over Paulin, who heads Desalle by just nine.

Herlings was again in a class of his own in MX2. The young Dutchman dominated both motos, winning by more than 50 seconds each time.

Australian Dean Ferris made good use of fast starts and consistent riding to claim runner-up honors. The Yamaha rider finished third in both MX2 motos.

Herling’s teammate Jordi Tixler of France ended up third overall. He fell on the first lap of the first moto and then worked his way up to fifth. Things went smoother for him in the second moto, where he rode up front through out the race, taking second.

Spain’s Jose Butron (KTM) finished fourth overall, followed by Russia’s Aleksandr Tonkov (Hon).

Herlings enjoys a huge 151-point lead over Tixier in the MX2 Championship. Butron is third, 58 points behind Tixier.



1. Antonio Cairoli (KTM)

2. Clement Desalle (Suz)

3. Kevin Strijbos (Suz)

4. Ken de Dycker (KTM)

5. Jeremy van Horebeek (Kaw)

6. Gautier Paulin (Kaw)

7. Rui Goncalves (KTM)

8. Evgeny Bobryshev (Hon)

9. Max Nagl (Hon)

10. Joel Roelants (Yam)


1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)

2. Dean Ferris (Yam)

3. Jordi Tixier (KTM)

4. Jose Butron (KTM)

5. Aleksandr Tonkov (Hon)

6. Harri Kullas (KTM)

7. Petar Petrov (Yam)

8. Max Anstie (Suz)

9. Glenn Coldenhoff (KTM)

10. Christophe Charlier (Yam)