Musquin Takes 250-class Win At Muddy Creek

Shan Moore | June 1, 2013
Marvin Musquin

Blountville, TN, June 1, 2013 – Local favorites Zach Osborne and Cooper Webb kept the crowd on its feet during the 250 race at the Muddy Creek Motocross National, however, when all was said and done it was a consistent performance from Marvin Musquin that claimed the overall win at round three of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Serie at Muddy Creek Raceway in Blountville, Tennessee. The FMF/KTM rider parlayed a 2-2 performance into his first overall win of the season, finishing behind teammate Ken Roczen in moto one and GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac in moto two.

Osborne (GEICO Honda) and Webb (MyPlash Star Yamaha/Metal Mulisha Yamaha) both lead early in the first moto, with Webb giving Roczen a tough time until the French rider finally passed him for the lead on lap two, with Musquin following his teammate into second a short time later.

On lap five, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett passed Osborne and Webb to move into third behind Roczen and Musquin.

Meanwhile, Tomac wheelied off the start and was back in the pack on lap one, but moved into a top-five position midway into the race.

At the finish, Roczen took the win over Musquin, with Baggett third, Tomac in fourth and Webb in fifth.

In Moto two, Tomac finally got the start he’s been looking for and put his Honda out front ahead of Musquin. Meanwhile, Osborne passed teammate after Justin Bogle to move into third.

Roczen was sixth after the first lap and was making a charge, but fell when he tried to pass Osborne, allowing Baggett to go by.

Roczen made another mistake late in the race, which allowed Baggett to take over the third place position.

Out front, Tomac took a big with, while Musquin finished second, giving him the win.


1. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 2-2

2. Eli Tomac 4-1 (Honda) 4-1

3. Ken Roczen (KTM) 1-4

4. Blake Baggett (Kawasai ) 3-3

5. Zach Osborne (Honda) 6-5

6. Jason Anderson (Suzuki) 7-7

7. Justin Bogle (Honda) 12-6

8. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha) 8-11

9. Blake Wharton (Suzuki) 11-9

10. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) 5-15

11. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki) 13-8

12. Joseph Savatgy (KTM) 10-12







Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.