Charlie Mullins Wins Again At Big Buck GNCC

Cycle News Staff | April 22, 2013
  Charlie Mullins topped the Big Buck GNCC. Photography by Ken Hill

Charlie Mullins claimed his third GNCC win of the year at the Big Buck. Photography by Ken Hill.

FMF/KTM Factory Team riders picked up where they left off and that was battling for the win at the Big Buck GNCC in Union, South Carolina, April 21. This time, the two KTM riders fought all the way down to the checkered flag with Charlie Mullins holding on for the exciting win after three hours of racing. Kailub Russell ended up second, while Shenandoah Honda/’s Thad DuVall rounded out the podium.

Russell led most of the seven-lap race. Two laps from the end, however, Mullins took over and held off Russell for the rest of the way for his third win of the season.

Russell made one last push at the very end of the race to get back into the lead but washed out with the checkered flag in sight. He got up to finish second, about 35 seconds behind Mullins, who now leads Russell by 10 points in the championship.

Mullins and Russell had plenty of breathing room over DuVall, who crossed the finish line more than three and a half minutes behind Russell.

KTM rider Chris Bach came from behind to pass early leader Paul Whibley late in the race to claim fourth overall.

Whibley, who is riding with a broken hand, completed the top five overall.

Sixth overall went to XC2 Pro Lites winner, FAR Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong, who finished 15 seconds ahead of class rival Grant Baylor in seventh overall.

Eighth overall went to the third-place XC2 Pro Lites-class rider Aaron Plessinger.

Josh Strang (Kawasaki/XC1) and Jedediah Haines (Yamaha/XC2 Pro Lites) completed the top 10 overall.

KTM’s Maria Forsberg finish a little over 30 seconds ahead of fellow KTM rider Kacy Martinez to win the Women’s class.

Yamaha rider Jessica Patterson finished third.



    Charlie Mullins (KTM)

    Kailub Russell (KTM)

    Thad DuVall (HON)

    Chris Bach (KTM)

    Paul Whibley (YAM)

    Josh Strang (KAW)

    Ricky Russell (YAM)

    Takeshi Koikeda (HON)

    Jordan Ashburn (YAM)

    Adam Bonneur (KAW)


    Andrew DeLong (HSQ)

    Grant Baylor (KTM)

    Aaron Plessinger (YAM)

    Jed Haines (YAM)

    Shane Hufford Jr (KTM)

    Jason Thomas (KTM)

    AJ Stewart (YAM)

    Sam Evans (YAM)

    Zach Nolan (KTM)

    Travis Coy (KTM)

XC1 Series Standings:

    Charlie Mullins (115)

    Kailub Russell (105)

    Chris Bach (70)

    Josh Strang (63)

    Thad DuVall (63)

    Paul Whibley (59)

    Ricky Russell (53)

    Jordan Ashburn (51)

    Takeshi Koikeda (50)

    Adam Bonneur (44)


XC2 Series Standings:


    Andrew DeLong (108)

    Grant Baylor (87)

    Jason Thomas (81)

    Shane Hufford Jr (62)

    Jed Haines (52)

    AJ Stewart (52)

    Aaron Plessinger (51)

    Zach Osborne (42)

    Travis Coy (38)

    Mark Heresco Jr (31)

Overall National Championship Standings:

    Charlie Mullins (115)

    Kailub Russell (105)

    Chris Bach (67)

    Andrew DeLong (58)

    Thad DuVall (57)

    Josh Strang (51)

    Grant Baylor (50)

    Paul Whibley (49)

    Jason Thomas (44)

    Ricky Russell (37)