Bell Dominates Primm WORCS

| February 11, 2013
Robby Bell captured his first-ever WORCS victory.  Photography By: Harlen Foley

Robby Bell captured his first-ever WORCS victory.  Photography By: Harlen Foley

Precision Concept’s Robby Bell dominated round two of the 2013 Rocky Mountain MC World Off-Road Championship Series, presented by Motoworks, in Primm, Nevada, February 10, to claim his first WORCS win of his career. DTS/Zip-Ty Racing’s Gary Sutherlin finished second, followed by RPM/KTM’s Justin Jones.

The reigning champion and round one winner, Taylor Roberts, was missing from the lineup due to a severe cold, which kept him home for the weekend, which opened the door for a new winner for the first time since May of 2012.

Bell was ready to pounce on the opportunity after finishing in the second spot at the season opener behind Roberts, so Bell wasted no time working his way into the lead early in lap one, and once out front, Bell ran away from the rest of the field to secure the easy win.

“I ran my own race today and it’s definitely a nice way to get my first WORCS win,” Bell said. “It’s still in the back of my head that Taylor wasn’t here, but either way I’ll take it.”

With the win, Bell also took over the Pro points lead with Roberts dropping back to seventh place.

Gary Sutherlin also earned his second straight podium finish with a WORCS career best second-place finish for the privateer racer, which also boosted Sutherlin up into the second spot in the points race just five points behind Bell.

“I felt good, the bike felt good, and I just had a good race. There wasn’t any pressure from third so I just rode smooth and went for the finish,” said Sutherlin.

Pro rookie, Justin Jones, earned his first Pro podium after an incredible charge from near the back of the pack, and a late pass on Bobby Garrison moved Jones into the third spot.

“I can’t be happier with what I just did,” Jones said. “Hopefully I keep progressing and getting better as the season goes on. I really surprised myself today. I came into this year hoping to get a top five, but always said if the opportunity presents itself I am going to take it and I did.”

RPM/KTM’s Eric Yorba would, once again, charge his way into the lead to secure his second straight Pro 2 class win followed by Tyler Renshaw and Cody Schafer joining him on the podium.

In the Pro 2 Lites Class, John Burr Cycle’s  Steve Gibson claimed his second win of the season with Clint Miglia and Dylan Osborne, once again, rounding out the podium.



By Harlen Foley