Rispoli Doubles in Red Flagged Supersport Race

Henny Ray Abrams | September 23, 2012
James Rispoil doubles at Homestead after winning a red flagged race two.  Photography By: Andrea Wilson

Photography By: Andrea Wilson

HOMESTEAD, FL, SEPT 23 – Celtic Racing/Orient Express Racing’s James Rispoli (Suzuki) swept both legs of the Supersport East double-header after the second race was called official following a red flag, then extreme weather at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Rispoli was jetting away from the field when Matt Schrag crashed on the 11th lap, bringing out a red flag as a light rain began to fall off the back straightaway. As Schrag was being tended to and the track was being cleaned a thick blanket of black clouds rolled into the area. The rain didn’t intensify, but there was lightning, which brought a halt to on-track action.

Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha’s Tomas Puerta was two seconds behind Rispoli when the race was called official at the end of 10 of 18 scheduled laps, with Latus Motors Racing Castrol Triumph’s Dustin Dominguez in his shadow. Then came Stefan Mesa (Kneedraggers.com Yamaha) and Hayden Gillim (Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha).

Rispoli contests the Supersport West division, so his victory only served to deny points to the East combatants. Tops among them is Dominguez, the third place finisher who stretched his points lead to 21, 229 to 221, over Jake Lewis. Lewis (Riders’ Discount Vesrah Suzuki) finished off the back of the lead five in sixth. Fourth place finisher Mesa is third in points with 212.

Homestead Supersport East Results:
1. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
2. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
3. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph)
4. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
5. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
6. Jake Lewis (Suzuki)
7. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
8. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
9. Elena Myers (Suzuki)
10. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)

Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.