ISDE: U.S. Juniors Climb To Third

Cycle News Staff | September 25, 2012

In just two days, France has established a commanding lead in the 87th International Six Days Enduro in Germany. After the second day of competition (Tuesday, September 25), France has pulled out to a remarkable 12-minute advantage over the next-best team of Australia, which leads Italy by five minutes.

Italy climbed passed both Spain and Finland to take over third. Finland is now fourth and Spain fifth.

Spain lost one of its key members on the day. Cristobal Guerrero had to withdraw after dislocating his shoulder during the first loop. Each World Trophy team is allowed one throw-away score each day, so Spain can no longer afford any more problems the rest of the week.

Team USA had another strong ride to maintain sixth in the World division.

There was a big shake up already in the Junior World Trophy division. Italy, which was leading after day one, lost two of its riders, knocking them out of contention. Another strong performance by the team from Great Britain sees them taking over the lead, but by only 38 seconds over France, which recovered nicely from their rocky start yesterday.

The U.S. contingent had reasons to be excited after day two. The U.S. Junior World Team climbed two notches and is now in medal contention in third and is only three minutes out of second. The U.S. Team is, however, closely followed by Team Australia, which is only about a minute and a half back in fourth. Australia held third after day one but lost a rider on day two.

Charlie Mullins continues to be America’s top rider in class. After two days, the former AMA National Enduro Champion is fourth in the E2 class. He’s chasing leader Pierre-Alexandre Renet (France), Johnny Aubert (France) and Alex Salvini (Italy). WORCS Champion Taylor Robert is eighth in class, just 21 seconds behind Australia’s Josh Strang and 35 second behind Spain’s Ivan Cervantes.

Mike Brown has been putting in a solid performance in the E1 class, where he currently occupies the ninth-place position and is just 10 seconds behind Finland’s Lauri Pohjonen.

French rider Antoine Meo leads E1 and teammate Christophe Nambotin heads E3.

In the Women’s Trophy division, France is still leading the way by a comfortable 14-minute advantage over Australia. Germany is eight minutes behind Australia in third.

The U.S. Women’s team is cruising along in sixth.

The top U.S. Club team is still the Boise Ridge Riders in 16th.

Today’s course was the same as yesterday’s but riders will see changes for tomorrow. The time schedule is expected to be faster and the course longer and tougher.


World Trophy
1. France: Antoine Meo (KTM), Rodrig Thain, Johnny Aubert (KTM), Pierre-Alexandre Renet, Sebastien Guillaume and Christophe Nambotin (KTM), 11:10:46.60
2. Australia: Glenn Kearney, Daniel Milner, Christopher Hollis (KTM), Matthew Philipps, Josh Strang (KTM) and Toby Price (KTM), +12:00.08
3. Italy: Maurizio Micheluz, Deny Philippaerts, Alex Salvini, Oscar Baletti, Manuel Monni (KTM), Mirko Gritti (KTM), + 16:58.73
4. Finland: Eero Remes (KTM), Antii Hellsten, Roni Nikander (KTM), Juha Salminen, Jari Mattila (KTM), Marko Tarkkala, +18:31.00
5. Spain: Victor Guerrero (KTM), Lorenzo Santolino, Ivan Cervantes, Cristobal Guerrero (KTM), Armand Monleon (KTM), Aaron Bernardez, + 18:51.17
6. USA: Mike Brown (KTM), Destry Abbott, Kurt Caselli (KTM), Taylor Robert, Charlie Mullins (KTM), Russell Bobbitt (KTM), + 19:25.59
7. Sweden: +21:33.86
8. Britain: +37:47.21
9. Netherlands: +42:26.52
10. Czech Republic: +55:06.67
11. Germany: +58:31.12
12. Belgium: +58:5106
13. Austria: +1:09:25.16

Junior World Trophy
1. Britain: Jack Rowland, Steve Holcombe (KTM), Alex Rockwell, Danny McCanny 6:59:44.45
2. France: Jeremy Joly, Matthias Bellino, Alexandre Queyreyre, Kevin Rohmer +38.95
3. USA: Travis Coy (KTM), Andrew Delong, Thaddeus Duvall, Jesse Groemm (KTM) +6:39.96
4. Australia: Benjamin Burrell (KTM), Luka Bussa, Mitcham Harper, Lachlan Stanford +7:51.60
5. Portugal: Bernardo Megre (KTM), Henrique Nogueira, Luis Oliveira and Diogo Ventura +6:09.61
6. Finland: + 14:04.41
7. Spain: + 18:13.98
8. Czech Republic: +20:39.79
9. Germany: +20:49.73
10. Sweden: +27:41.43

Women’s World Trophy
1. France: Blandine Dufrene, Ludivine Puy, Audrey Rossat (KTM), 5:29:22.73
2. Australia: Jessica Gardiner, Tanya Hearn (KTM), Tayla Jones (KTM), 5:43:17.62
3. Germany: Heike Petrick, Nina Oppenländer, Sabrina Lauke (KTM), 5:51:35.83

E1 individual Progressive
1. Antoine Meo, France, KTM 2:13.00.88
2. Eero Remes, Finland, KTM, 2:14.43.36
3. Lorenzo Santolino, Spain, Husqvarna 2:16:49.24
4. Rodrig Thain, France, Honda, 2:17:38.53
5. Daniel Milner, 2:17.54.83
6. Antti Hellsten, Finland, TM, 2:17:55.45
7. Maurizio Micheluz, Italy, Honda, 2:18:20.19
8. Lauri Pohjonen, Finland, KTM, 2:19:05.54
9. Michael Brown, USA, KTM, 2:19:14.14
10. Victor Guerrero, Spain, KTM, 2:19:15.43

E2 Individual Progressive
1. Pierre-Alexandre Renet, France, Husaberg 2:12:58.82
2. Johnny Aubert, France, KTM, 2:13:36.14
3. Alex Salvini, Italy, Husqvarna, 2:15:24.78
4. Charlie Mullins, USA, KTM, 2:1538.41
5. Matthew Philipps, Australia, Yamaha, 2:15:40.81
6. Ivan Cervantes, Spain, Gas-Gas, 2:15:47.53
7. Josh Strang, Australia, KTM, 2:16:02.05
8. Taylor Robert, USA, Kawasaki,  2:16:23.90
9. Robert Kvarnstrom, Sweden, Beta, 2:17:15.99
10. Hans Vogels, Netherlands, Husaberg, 2:17:36.97

E3 Individual Progressive
1. Christophe Nambotin, France, KTM, 2:13:32.23
2. Toby Price, Australia, KTM, 2:14:19.54
3. Joakim Ljunggren, Sweden, 2:16:18.24
4. Manuel Monni, Italy, 2:17:21.15
5. Algar Leok, Estonia, TM, 2:17:32.81
6. Danny McCanney, GBR, Gas-Gas, 2:18:18.53
7. Marcus, Kehr, Germany, KTM, 2:18:19.02
8. Sebastien Guillaume, France, Gas-Gas 2:18:26.22
9. Mirko Gritti, Italy, KTM, 2:18:31.81
10. Pontius Hogberg, Sweden, Gas-Gas, 2:18:54.34