ISDE: U.S. Junior Team Looking Good To Medal

Cycle News Staff | September 28, 2012
Mike Brown had a strong day five.

Mike Brown had a strong day five.

With just one day left, France is poised to sweep all three Trophy classes at this year’s Six Days in Germany. After day five, France extended its lead in all three classes (World Trophy, Junior World Trophy and Women’s Trophy) and will head into the final Motocross Special Test with commanding leads in all three.

As for Team USA, day five was a positive one with the U.S. Trophy team moving up a notch and is back where it started after day one – in sixth place. All six riders – Charlie Mullins, Kurt Caselli, Mike Brown, Taylor Robert, Destry Abbott and Russell Bobbitt – had strong rides today, slipping past Sweden to take over the sixth-place position. The team now leads Sweden by a little over a minute and is about 50 second behind Spain.

Going into the final day tomorrow, France leads Australia by a commanding 35 minutes, and Australia is safely ahead of Italy. Finland is fourth with about a two-minute lead on Spain.

In the Junior World Trophy class, Team USA – Travis Coy, Andrew Delong, Thad DuVall and Jesse Groemm – is poised to take home the Silver medal. The four Americans are comfortably in control of third place. They’re 12 minutes behind second-place Great Britain and over 15 minutes ahead of fourth-place Australia.

Mike Brown had a strong day today. Brown finished fourth in the E1 class and is 10th in the progressive results.

Despite riding all week with a bum shoulder, Charlie Mullins placed third in the E2 class behind top French riders Pierre-Alexandre Renet and Johnny Aubert. Kurt Caselli was eighth on the day, while Thad DuVall and Taylor Robert were 13th and 14th, respectively.

Taylor Robert is still the highest-ranked American in class.

Taylor Robert is still the highest-ranked American in class.

In the progressive results, Robert is holding down seventh and DuVall eighth. Caselli is 13th.

The top U.S. Club team so far is the Wellard team, made up of Fred Hoess, Johnny Barber and Jordan Brandt. The three are currently 13th and are within striking distance of the 12th-ranked team.

The biggest question going into tomorrow’s final test is: who’s going to be the individual overall winner? Right now, Christophe Nambotin has an 11-second edge over his French teammate Antoine Meo.

The final day will conclude at the Sachsenring Circuit on a track that will be comprised of about 40 percent asphalt (supermoto) and 60 percent dirt (motocross).


World Trophy
1, France: Antoine Meo, Rodrig Thain, Johnny Aubert, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, Sebastien Guillaume and Christophe Nambotin (KTM), 26:39:21.04
2, Australia: Glenn Kearney, Daniel Milner, Christopher Hollis, Matthew Phillips, Josh Strang and Toby Price (KTM), +35:03.20
3, Italy: Maurizio Micheluz, Deny Philippaerts, Alex Salvini, Oscar Balletti, Manuel Monni, Mirko Gritti, +45:40.30
4, Finland: Eero Remes, Antti Hellsten, Roni Nikander, Juha Salminen, Jari Mattila, Marko Tarkkala, +54:09.28
5, Spain: Victor Guerrero, Lorenzo Santolino, Ivan Cervantes, Cristobal Guerrero, Armand Monleon, Aaron Bernardez, +56:27.07
6, USA: Mike Brown, Destry Abbott, Kurt Caselli, Taylor Robert, Charlie Mullins, Russell Bobbitt, +57:11.89
7, Sweden: +58:15.81
8. Great Britain: +1:26:42.10
9, Germany: +1:39:27.91
10, Netherlands: +1:51:47.28
11, Czech Republic: +2:11:47.09
12, Austria: +2:43:03.50

Junior World Trophy
1, France: Jeremy Joly, Matthias Bellino, Alexandre Queyreyre, Kevin Rohmer, 16:35:12.08
2, Great Britain: Jack Rowland, Steve Holcombe, Alex Rockwell, Danny McCanney, +2:41.88
3, USA: Travis Coy, Andrew Delong, Thaddeus Duvall, Jesse Groemm +14:37.78
4, Australia: Benjamin Burrell, Luka Bussa, Mitcham Harper, Lachlan Stanford +30:05.33
5, Portugal: Bernardo Megre, Henrique Nogueira, Luis Oliveira and Diogo Ventura +38:18.57
6, Finland: +45:02.40
7, Czech Republic: +48:43.15
8, Spain: +49:41.33
9, Sweden: +50:53.40
10, Germany: +52:44.96

Women’s World Trophy 1, France: Blandine Dufrene, Ludivine Puy, Audrey Rossat, 13:18:03.14
2, Germany: Heike Petrick, Nina Oppenländer, Sabrina Lauke, +1:49:49.57
3, Australia: Jessica Gardiner, Tanya Hearn, Tayla Jones, +1:58:0687

Manufacturers Trophy
1, KTM 2: Eero Remes, Kurt Caselli, Johnny Aubert, 16:13:32.53
2, Husaberg 1: Joakim Ljunggren, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, Mathias Bellino, +1:17.49
3, Yamaha: Daniel Milner, Matthew Phillips, Mitcham Harper, +12:52.67
4, HM Honda International 1: Thaddeus Duvall, Tom Sagar, Rodrig Thain, +20:28.52
5, TM Factory A: Antti Hellsten, Nicolo Mori, Aigar Leok, +23:10.28

E1 individual Day 5
1, Antoine Meo, France, KTM, 54:34.85
2, Daniel Milner, Australia, Yamaha +30.79
3, Eero Remes, Finland, KTM, +42.11
4, Michael Brown, USA, KTM, +1:19.99
5, Rodrig Thain, France, Honda, +1:32.72
6, Maurizio Micheluz, Italy, HM-Honda, +1:44.57
7, Luis Oliveira, Portugal, Yamaha, +1:45.85
8. Antti Hellsten, Finland, TM, +1:59.51
9, Jamie McCanney, GBR, Husaberg, +2:02.25
10, Jack Rowland, GBR, Husqvarna, +2:05.96

E1 individual Progressive
1, Antoine Meo, France, KTM, 5:16:32.12
2, Eero Remes, Finland, KTM, +4:50.81
3, Rodrig Thain, France, Honda, +10:24.51
4, Daniel Milner, Australia, Yamaha, +10:43.74
5. Antti Hellsten, Finland, TM, +12:11.39
6, Lorenzo Santolino, Spain, Husqvarna, +12:21.43
7, Maurizio Micheluz, Italy, HM-Honda, +14:28.20
8, Jeremy Joly, France, Yamaha, +15:20.50
9, Victor Guerrero, Spain, KTM, +15:42.62
10, Michael Brown, USA, KTM, +17:20.00

E2 Individual Day 5
1, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, France, Husaberg, 54:54.13
2, Johnny Aubert, France, KTM, +10.86
3, Charlie Mullins, USA, KTM, +14.41
4, Mathias Bellino, France, Husaberg, +22.74
5, Joshua Strang, Australia, KTM, +24.00
6, Matthew Phillips, Australia, Yamaha, +33.41
7, Alex Salvini, Italy, Husqvarna, +34.05
8, Kurt Caselli, USA, KTM, +1:04.83
9, Ivan Cervantes, Spain, Gas-Gas, +1:07.49
10, Jordan Rose, GBR, TM, +1:14.91

E2 Individual Progressive
1, Johnny Aubert, France, KTM, 5:19:42.69
2, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, France, Husaberg, +6.13
3, Alex Salvini, Italy, Husqvarna, +3:01.37
4, Matthew Phillips, Australia, Yamaha, +3:44.57
5, Joshua Strang, Australia, KTM, +4:58.37
6, Ivan Cervantes, Spain, Gas-Gas, +5:01.27
7, Taylor Robert, USA, Kawasaki,  +8:08.92
8, Thaddeus Duvall, USA, Honda, +8:59.56
9, Mathias Bellino, France, Husaberg, +9:17.91
10, Robert Kvarnstrom, Sweden, Beta, +9:43.80

E3 Individual Day 5
1, Christophe Nambotin, France, KTM, 54:30.60
2, Marcus Kehr, Germany, KTM, +1:00.75
3, Aigar Leok, Estonia, TM, +1:10.97
4, Toby Price, Australia, KTM, +1:15.92
5, Manuel Monni, Italy, +1:18.24
6, Joakim Ljunggren, Sweden, Husaberg, +1:40.48
7, Johan Edlund, Sweden, Husaberg, +1:59.70
8, Mirko Gritti, Italy, KTM, +2:05.02
9, Danny McCanney, GBR, Gas-Gas, +2:05.57
10, Russell Bobbitt, USA, KTM, +2:07.23

E3 Individual Progressive
1, Christophe Nambotin, France, KTM, 5:16:20.78
2, Toby Price, Australia, KTM, +8:35.51
3, Joakim Ljunggren, Sweden, +9:39.82
4, Marcus, Kehr, Germany, KTM, +10:34.97
5, Aigar Leok, Estonia, TM, +10:51.93
6, Manuel Monni, Italy, +11:27.07
7, Danny McCanney, GBR, Gas-Gas, +12:05.62
8, Mirko Gritti, Italy, KTM, +13:04.52
9, Sebastien Guillaume, France, Gas-Gas, +14:15.51
10, Marko Tarkkala, Finland, Beta, +16:13.82