Duhamel Fastest in FIM e-Power At Le Mans

Cycle News Staff | September 6, 2012

Miguel Duhamel has put the Lightning of the Barracuda Racing Team entry at the top of the timesheets today in opening qualifying for the FIM e-Power TTXGP Championship at the Le Mans Circuit in France.

Duhamel, the winningest rider in AMA road racing history with 86 wins in various AMA classes, last won a race on September 3, 2005.

“I am pretty satisfied with my qualifying,” Duhamel said. “But I could have done better. I spent the last three years on my couch and I need to give myself a bit of a shake to get back into a competitive frame of mind. The motorcycle is going well and I am sure I will be faster tomorrow.”

The e-Power TTXGP race will run in conjunction with this weekend’s 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Duhamel lapped at a best of 1:49.2. The championship leader, Matthias Himmelmann of the Munch Team, was second best with his 1:50.834.