Chaz Davies Gets First World Superbike Win

Cycle News Staff | September 9, 2012

ParkinGO MTC Racing’s Chaz Davies had a career day, winning his first World Superbike race after finishing third in the first race at the Nurburgring soon after it was announced that he was joining BMW’s World Superbike team in 2013.

But Davies’ day was somewhat overshadowed by the plight of the championship leaders. Aprilia’s Max Biaggi had taken over the championship lead by winning the first race, taking advantage of a rare race crash by BMW’s Marco Melandri. Then Biaggi crashed 41 seconds into race two, though he was able to remount. Melandri, meanwhile, was set to recapture the points lead by taking the lead on lap eight, only to crash out of the race on lap nine. It was his first double DNF of the season.

Kawasaki’s Tom Sykes again led off the start, as he had in the first race, but not for as long. Melandri took over on lap eight, crashing on lap nine. Then it went to Davies, who went from third to first on the ninth lap.

Davies steadily managed to increase his lead to over four seconds, backing off to win his first WSB race by 3.022 secs. Aprilia’s Eugene Laverty took second, as he had in race one, with an all Great Britain podium being filled by Leon Camier on the FIXI Crescent Suzuki, the Brit only .2 sec. behind Laverty.

Honda’s Johnny Rea was fourth and Sykes fifth, making it a top five sweep for the United Kingdom.

Althea Racing Ducatis were next, Carlos Checa in front of Davide Giugliano.

FIXI Crescent Suzuki’s John Hopkins was 12th, one in front of Biaggi.

Despite finishing 13th, Biaggi added three points to his lead over Melandri. With two rounds, four races, remaining, he has 318 to 308.5 for Melandri.

Davies will partner Marco Melandri on the BMW Motorrad factory team. Andrea Buzzoni, general manager of BMW Motorrad Italia, said,  “On his way through the ranks, Chaz showed how talented and fast he is. His title win in the Supersport World Championship in 2011 was impressive proof of that. And in his current debut season in the Superbike World Championship, it did not take him long to win his first race. We are convinced that Marco and Chaz will form a premium rider line-up, and that in combination with the BMW S 1000 RR, we will have one of the strongest packages in the World Championship.”

World Superbike Results:
1. Chaz Davies (Aprilia)
2. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia)
3. Leon Camier (Suzuki)
4. Jonathan Rea (Honda)
5. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki)
6. Carlos Checa (Ducati)
7. Davide Giugliano (Ducati)
8. Lorenzo Baz (Kawasaki)
9. Ayrton Badovini (BMW)
10. Sylvain Guintoli (Ducati)