Whibley Wins Indiana OMA

Cycle News Staff | August 6, 2012

Paul Whibley captured his seventh OMA win in a row after an early-race struggle with former National Enduro Champion Russell Bobbitt at the Sidi High Wire Cross-Country National in Medora, Indiana, August 5.

In hot and humid conditions, Bobbitt edged out Whibley for the FMF Holeshot Award and led Whibley around the course for nearly two laps before giving way to the defending OMA champ. Russell kept it close for a little while longer before dropping off the pace later in the race.

Whibley, on the FMF/AmPro Yamaha, eventually took the checkered flag about a minute and a half ahead of Bobbitt’s FMF KTM.

Husberg’s Nick Fahringer finished third, followed by 30-39 A-class winner Jeff Kregg and Shane Klimek (fourth Pro).