Carmichael, Bell, Bailey Crowned At Loretta Lynn’s

Kit Palmer | August 3, 2012

More than 20 National Championships were decided today at the 2012 Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s. But only one rider has managed to clinch two titles so far, and that rider is Suzuki pilot Jordan Bailey.

Of his two titles, the one in the 85cc (9-11) came down to a dramatic final-moto showdown between he and Kawasaki rider Garrett Marchbanks. Bailey and Marchbanks went into the third moto tied for the lead, so it came down to a winner-takes-all final between the two rivals. Basically, the race was decided by the start with Bailey getting the holeshot and running away with the win.

Marchbanks settled in behind the Suzuki rider but just couldn’t maintain the same pace as Bailey and finished out the moto in second place.

Bailey’s 2-1-1 edged out Marchbanks’ 1-2-2 for the class championship.

Bailey’s second championship came in the 85cc (9-11) Modified class where his 1-1-2 bettered Carter Halpain’s 3-3-1.

In the 250cc A class, Amsoil/Factory Connection Honda’s Zach Bell completed his 1-1-1 sweep after finishing ahead of Kawasaki Team Green’s Dillan Epstein for the third straight time this week.

Epstein went 2-2-2 for the week, while Suzuki rider Joey Savatgy went 3-3-3 for third overall.

Honda rider Matt Bisceglia also swept all three motos in the 450cc B Stock class, earning his second national championship at Loretta Lynn’s. Honda rider Luke Clout finished second overall with a 2-2-2.

There were a couple of other riders who cleaned up after today’s races. Ryder DiFrancesco went undefeated in the 51cc (4-6) AMA 1 Stock class, as did Pierce Brown in the 65cc (7-9) Stock class, and Jazzmyn Canfield in the Girls (9-11).

But those weren’t the only ones. Kawasaki Team Green’s Adam Cianciarulo completed his domination of the Supermini 1 (12-15) class. For the third time, Cianciarulo got out in front early and ran away with the win. Cianciarulo will go for his second title tomorrow in the Supermini 2 (13-16) division, where he has already won both motos. This will be Cianciarulo’s final race in the mini class before moving up to the 250F class. His first race on the “big bike” will be at the Monster Cup in Las Vegas in October.

Justin Hoeft took second today in the third and final moto of the Mini Senior (12-14) Modified class and that was more than enough to claim the class National Championship.

Ricky Carmichael finished off his week on a winning note, topping the Junior 25+ class after a short battle with Robbie Reynard. Reynard actually passed Carmichael on the first lap but couldn’t hold the former MX and Supercross champ off for long. Carmichael got back a few laps later and steadily pulled away, taking his third win of the week and capturing the class championship over Andrew Matusek (2-3-4) and Reynard (8-2-2).

Reynard, however, didn’t come away empty handed. He wrapped up the Vet 35+ National Championship today over James Povolny.

Doug Dubach finished off the Senior 45+ class, while Gary Semics had little trouble wrapping up the Masters 50+ Championship after going 1-1-1.

Other class champions included Greg Gehrer (College B/C (16-24), Codee Samples (51cc 4-6 Stock Limited), Jaiden Taylor (51cc AMA 7-8 2 Stock), Pierce Brown (65cc 7-9 Stock), Conner Mullennix (65cc 10-11 Stock), Jordan Smith (Schoolboy 1 12-16 B/C), and Brandy Richards (Girls 12-15).

The final 12 National Championship will be decided tomorrow in the final day of racing.


Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.