Dungey, Roczen Top Millville MX Qualifying

Shan Moore | July 14, 2012

Millville, MN, (July 14, 2012) – There were no big surprises in this morning’s qualifying for today’s Spring Creek round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, with Ryan Dungey putting his Red Bull KTM at the top of the time charts just over a half-second ahead of MotoConcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi.

250 points leader Blake Baggett (pictured) was sixth fastest in qualifying.

The Millville round is a home race for Dungey and there are already lots of banners and signs posted by fans around the track wishing Dungey well. With James Stewart opting out of today’s race in order to let his wrist heal, Dungey is expected to grab his fifth overall win of the season, that is if Alessi doesn’t have something to say about it. Alessi has been able to run with Dungey early in the motos, when he gets out front.

This morning’s third fastest qualifier was Jimmy Albertson, who looked good on his BTO Sports Suzuki. Albertson was a little over a half-second slower than Alessi and just over a tenth of a second faster than Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton, who slotted into fourth in final qualifying.

Fifth fastest was Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle, who barely edged Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Tyla Rattray for the spot.

In the meantime, Kyle Chisholm (Kaw), Andrew Short (Hon), Jake Weimer (Kaw) and Matt Lemoine (Kaw) rounded out the top 10 qualifiers.

In the 250 division, Ken Roczen topped the field, circulating his Red Bull KTM two-tenths faster than GEICO Powersports Honda’s Eli Tomac.

Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin was third fastest, with Rockstar Suzuki’s Jason Anderson and GEICO Powersports Honda’s Justin Barcia rounding out the top five.

Series points leader Blake Baggett was sixth on his Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki.

The weather for today’s race is expected to be in the 90s, however, it was nice and cool during qualifying.

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.