Beaubier Gets Third Win in Four Tries at Mid-Ohio

Henny Ray Abrams | July 15, 2012

LEXINGTON, OHIO, JULY 15 – Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha’s Cameron Beaubier won his third Daytona Sportbike race out of the last four by easing away to victory on a sunny Sunday afternoon at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The race was run in two parts after a light rain interrupted the first try. Beaubier was out front when the race was stopped on the sixth of 21 laps. The rain passed over, the track dried, and the race began anew, now as a 16-lap sprint.

Geico Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas took the lead on the first lap after chasing holeshot winner Bobby Fong (Meen Motorsports Racing Yamaha) for a few corners. Beaubier was an early third ahead of Saturday winner Dane Westby (M4 Broaster Chicken Suzuki), Ducshop Racing’s Jake Zemke (Duc) and Tommy Hayden on the second Y.E.S. Graves Yamaha.

Beaubier moved into second on the fifth of the 16 remaining laps, with Westby dropping Fong to fourth. There was more shuffling on the sixth lap and again on the eighth, when Westby took the lead.

On lap 10 Beaubier took the lead from Westby going into the first turn left. Soon after, he, Westby and Fong took off, leaving Cardenas to fend off Hayden.

Ending lap 13 Beaubier pulled half a second gap, which he continued to add to to the finish.

The margin of victory was .779 sec.

Cardenas was 5.258 secs. back in third and less than a tenth up on Hayden, who was fifth.

Cardenas continues to lead the championship with 287 points to 247 for Westby. Hayden is third with 213.

Mid-Ohio Daytona Sportbike Results:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Dane Westby (Suzuki)
3. Bobby Fong (Yamaha)
4. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)
5. Tommy Hayden (Yamaha)
6. Cory West (Suzuki)
7. Huntley Nash (Yamaha)
8. JD Beach (Yamaha)
9. Joey Pascarella (Suzuki)
10. Austin Dehaven (Yamaha)



Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.