Wyman Wins Last Lap V&H XR1200 Thriller

Henny Ray Abrams | June 24, 2012

LEEDS, AL, JUNE 24 – Kyle Wyman (KLR Group/Spyke’s Harley-Davidson) used a last lap pass of championship rival Tyler O’Hara to win his second Vance & Hines XR1200 race in a row and third overall on a very hot but cloudy day at Barber Motorsports Park.

Wyman got the jump at the start, but pole-sitter O’Hara took the lead in the Turn 4 hairpin left. Wyman fought back and made a draft pass into the Turns 10-11 kink and held the lead across the line.

The lead swapped back and fourth until the fourth lap when O’Hara took it back long enough to secure the laps led point. Wyman passed him into the start of the Roller Coaster on lap 9, with O’Hara again taking it back on the entrance to Turn 10.

Wyman saved his best move for the final lap. He slipped past O’Hara in the Roller Coaster section, then held him off for the second half of the lap, beating him by a bikelength, officially .047 sec.

The battle for third was waged among four riders from the start with Michael Barnes leading the trio on his new ride, the MOB Racing/Teterboro RAMS/Team Pro-Motion XR1200. (Barnes left the Bartel’s Harley-Davidson/Scrubblade team following the Road America race.) The pack went to three on the eighth lap when Shane Narbonne crashed and two on the final lap after Gerry Signorelli went out on lap ten.

Barnes won the battle by .146 sec. over fellow Floridian David Estok (Ruthless Racing Inc./Deeley Harley-Davidson’s David Estok). Benny Carlson was a distant fifth.

Wyman cut O’Hara’s points lead to six, 165 to 159 after five of 11 races. Barnes holds third with 144.

Barber Vance & Hines XR1200 Results:
1. Kyle Wyman
2. Tyler O’Hara
3. Michael Barnes
4. David Estok
5. Benny Carlson
6. Michael Corbino
7. Travis Wyman
8. Josh Chisum
9. Nicholas Hansen

Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.