Michael Dunlop Wins Supersport TT

Cycle News Staff | June 6, 2012
Michael Dunlop took his third Isle of Man TT win today  taking the second race by 13 seconds over Cameron Donald.

Michael Dunlop took his third Isle of Man TT win today, the Ardna Mara Homes/McAdoo Racing rider taking the second Monster Energy Supersport race by 13 seconds over Cameron Donald.

Dunlop took over the lead halfway through the first lap when his brother William Dunlop pulled out. From there he gradually pulled away from Donald who took his third runner-up finish of the week.

The battle for third went all the way to the checkered flag with Ryan Farquhar getting the better of Bruce Anstey by just .01 of a second.

The decision to hold the race later in the evening clearly paid dividends as the clouds gave way to clear blue skies and sunshine, though it did present its usual hazard of bright sun from the Union Mills to Ballacraine section. Lack of adhesion flags were also being displayed at Glen Helen and Governor’s Bridge where a few damp patches remained.

It was 6:25 p.m. when John McGuinness headed off down Bray Hill, but at Glen Helen it was William Dunlop who led, the Wilson Craig Honda rider ready to improve upon his third-place finish two days ago. He led Michael Dunlop by 2.6 seconds with Donald a second back with James Hillier third. Anstey and McGuinness held onto fifth and sixth.

William Dunlop didn’t get far, pulling off retiring at Kirk Michael. From there it was all Michael Dunlop as he extended his lead over Donald to seven seconds at Glen Helen on the second lap with the same gap back to Anstey in third. Meanwhile, Farquhar had opened up a gap over Hillier and was now closing in on McGuinness for fourth.

With the fastest lap of the race at 125.629 mph, Dunlop extended his lead throughout the final lap to take his second Supersport win and third TT win in total, his eventual winning margin being 13.26 seconds. Donald was secure in second but Farquhar had to race all the way to the bitter end and he got the better of Anstey for the final podium spot by just .01 of a second.

McGuinness had to settle for fifth.