Blazusiak Wins Sacramento EnduroCross

Cycle News Staff | June 10, 2012

SACRAMENTO, CA, JUNE 6 – Taddy Blazusiak got back on track with a win at the GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship at the Power Balance Pavilion in Sacramento, California, June 9. Seeing his winning streak from his perfect season in 2011 come to an end at the 2012 season opener a few weeks ago in Las Vegas, Blazusiak worked his way to the front, getting around early leader Kevin Rookstool and then riding off with the win on the FMF KTM.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert ended up second, followed by Rookstool on the GEICO Honda.

Fourth place went to Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder, followed by Mike Brown (KTM), Bobby Garrison (Kawasaki), Cody Webb (Beta), Gary Sutherlin (Kawasaki) and Destry Abbott (Kawasaki).

Colton Haaker, who captured the win in Las Vegas, finished 10th, while GEICO Honda’s Geoff Aaron pulled up the rear. Both Haaker and Aaron were slowed by crashes.

Blazusiak is the new points leader, with Haaker in second, followed by Robert, Rookstool and Graffunder.

In the support classes, Bryan Roper topped the Open Amateur class ahead of Tucker Larrieu and Tyler Murray.

Canada’s Stephen Foord won the Vet class over Tod Sciacqua and Eric Ducray.

Chris Green topped the TrialsCross class over Dustin McCarthy and Ty Tremaine.

Louise Forsley took an exciting win in the Women’s class over Chantelle Bykerk, who had taken the lead on the last lap only to get hung up in the Matrix section just short of the finish line.

Maria Forsberg finished third.

GEICO AMA EnduroCross, presented by Lucas Oil Sacramento Expert Results:

1.    Taddy Blazusiak    KTM

2.    Taylor Robert        Kawasaki

3.    Kevin Rookstool    Honda

4.    Cory Graffunder        Husqvarna

5.    Mike Brown        KTM

6.    Bobby Garrison        Kawasaki

7.    Cody Webb        Beta

8.    Gary Sutherlin        Kawasaki

9.    Destry Abbott        Kawasaki

10.    Colton Haaker        Kawasaki

11.    Geoff Aaron        Honda