Wolverine OMA To Whibley

| May 21, 2012

Paul Whibley, on the FMF/Am Pro Yamaha, continued his winning ways in the 2012 Parts Unlimited OMA Nationals after topping the DP Brakes Wolverine Cross-Country in Copemish, Michigan, May 20.

Whibley grabbed another FMF Holeshot Award and simply ran off with the win, leading the entire two-and-a-half hour race on a course that was made more challenging by lingering dust.

Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer had a poor start but battled through the dust on the nearly ten mile trail to capture second place. Meanwhile, FMF/KTM’s Russell Bobbitt had a somewhat off day, struggling with fatigue and a lost shiftlever. But he was still able to salvage third place, rounding out the Pro podium.

Suzuki-mounted privateer Shane Klimek (Suzuki) collected fourth place in the Pro class.

Open A winner Spencer Burke (Kawasaki) took fourth overall and was the only amateur racer to complete six laps of the course along with the Pro-class leaders. Fifth overall went to A Lite winner Daniel Janus (Husqvarna), followed by Keith Zaagman (KTM), Brandon Farnum (Kawasaki), Bryan Johnson (Kawasaki), Darren Carlson (KTM), and David Stickel (KTM).



By John Gasso