Stewart Runs Off With First-Moto Win

Kit Palmer | May 19, 2012

James Stewart had little trouble winning the first moto of the opening round of the 2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship at Hangtown, putting his Lee McCullom-tuned Yoshimura Suzuki into the lead right off the start and never looked back.

Stewart steadily and smoothly pulled was from the pack and took control of the race, eventually taking the checkered flag a comfortable five-seconds ahead of Toyota/JGRMX Yamaha Davi Millsaps, 10 seconds ahead of Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey and 20 seconds ahead of his Yoshimura Suzuki’s teammate Brett Metcalfe.

There was a good battle for second place, which was held early on by Chaparral Honda’s Andrew Short, while Dungey was busy making up for a bad start. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle was in the mix, as was MotoConcepts’ Mike Alessi.

Millsaps eventually took control of second, while Dungey worked his way up to third, getting around Metcalfe past the halfway point.

Short dropped back to finish fifth, followed by Tickle, Alessi, Tommy Hahn, Josh Grant and Jake Weimer.


James Stewart (Suz)

Davi Millsaps (Yam)

Ryan Dungey (KTM)

Brett Metcalfe (Suz)

Andrew Short (Hon)

Broc Tickle (Kaw)

Mike Alessi (Suz)

Tommy Hahn (Hon)

Josh Grant (Kaw)

Jake Weimer (Kaw)

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.