Cairoli, Herlings Top MX GP Opener

Cycle News Staff | April 9, 2012

The Red Bull Factory Racing KTM squad had plenty to celebrate at the Grand Prix of the Netherlands, the opening round of the 2012 FIM Motocross World Championship at Valkenswaard, Monday, April 9. Both of its riders, Antonio Cairoli and Jeffery Herlings, won both motos of their respective classes in the sand of the Valkenswaard Circuit. Cairoli, the defending MX1 Champion, battled with Yamaha’s Steven Frossard and Suzuki’s Clement Desalle before securing both moto wins on this KTM 350 SX-F, while Herlings led every lap of both MX2 motos.

Belgium’s, Desalle, closed out the day second overall with 2-2 moto finishes, while Frossard ended up third overall via a pair of thirds.

Fourth overall went to Frenchman Gautier Paulin (Kawasaki), while fifth overall went to Belgian Kevin Strijbos (KTM).

Herlings, who finished second to Ken Roczen in the 2011 MX2 Championship, led every lap of the MX2 class and finished well ahead of both Great Britain’s Tommy Searle (Kawasaki) and Belgian Joel Roelants (Kawasaki) in both motos.

Roelants was credited with second overall after trading 2-3 moto finishes with his teammate, Searled.

Belgian Jeremy van Horebeek and Frenchman Jordi Tixier, both riding KTM’s, finished out the day fourth and fifth overall, respectively.

Rounding out the top 10 overall in MX2 was Great Britain’s Jake Nicholls (KTM) and Max Anstie (Honda), France’s Dylan Ferrandis (Kawasaki) and Valentin Teillet (Kawasaki), and Great Britain’s Mil Pocock (Yamaha).

Jeffery Herlings dominated the MX2-class action.



1. Antonio Cairoli (KTM)

2. Clement Desalle (Suz)

3. Steven Frossard (Yam)

4. Gautier Paulin (Kaw)

5. Kevin Strijbos (KTM)

6. Ken de Dycker (KTM)

7. Rui Goncalves (Hon)

8. Shaun Simpson (Yam)

9. Tanel Leok (Suz)

10. Xavier Boog (Kaw)



1. Jeffery Herlings (KTM)

2. Joel Roelants (Kaw)

3. Tommy Searle (Kaw)

4. Jeremy van Horebeek (KTM)

5. Jordi Tixier (KTM)

6. Jake Nicholls (KTM)

7. Max Anstie (Hon)

8. Dylan Ferandis (Kaw)

9. Valentin Teillet (Kaw)

10. Mel Pocock (Yam)