Villopoto Takes Seventh Win In Toronto

Shan Moore | March 24, 2012
Ryan Villopoto seventh win

Toronto, Canada, (March 24, 2012) – Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto claimed his seventh win of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series in Toronto’s Rogers Center, tonight, boosting his points lead to a whopping 79 points with five races remaining in the series.

Villopoto passed Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton on the second lap of the main event and then slowly pulled away before eventually establishing a nine-second lead by the end of the 20-lap race. Brayton stayed within striking distance for a couple of laps, but eventually settled into a lonely second, finishing the race with 13 seconds to spare over third place finisher Kevin Windham.

With the win, Villopoto goes into next week’s race in Houston with a mathematical chance to wrap up the championship early.

“Out of the first turn, it was just me and Brayton right off the bat,” said Villopoto. “I made some pretty big mistakes in the whoops, which were pretty tough. We’ll go to Houston, where I think there’s a chance to wrap up the title. That’s the plan.”

For Brayton, Toronto marked the second-consecutive runner-up finish.

“I really want to win one of these things,” said Brayton. “I feel I have the pace to do it, and I ran with Villopoto early. I just need to keep working and we’ll see what happens in Houston.”

The GEICO Powersports Honda-backed Windham came from outside the top-five at the start to finish third, passing JGRMX’s Davi Millsaps and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer in the process.

Millsaps held on for fourth, while Weimer finished fifth despite running over a fallen rider and running off the track.

Sixth went to Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, with Jeff Ward Racing’s Kyle Chisholm, and Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle finishing seventh and eighth.

Ninth went to Star/Valli Yamaha’s Robert Kiniry, which Muscle Milk Honda fill-in rider Wil Hahn finished 10th.

Villopoto now holds a 79-point lead over Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

Supercross Class Results
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
2. Justin Brayton (Hon)
3. Kevin Windham (Hon)
4. Davi Millsaps (Yam)
5. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
6. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
7. Kyle Chisholm (Kaw)
8. Broc Tickle (Kaw)
9. Robert Kiniry (Yam)
10. Wil Hahn (Hon)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.