Historic Win For KTM At Phoenix Supercross

Kit Palmer | January 14, 2012
Ryan Dungey first KTM win.

It was a historic night for KTM at the second round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series, an FIM Championship, at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona. In front of nearly 50,000 Supercross fans, Ryan Dungey rode a flawless race, grabbing the holeshot and running away with the win, giving KTM its first-ever AMA Supercross victory in the premier class.

Dungey and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer got out in front early, but it was Dungey who sprinted away, opening up about a 10 bikelength lead after the first lap and then settling into a fast and steady pace out in front, while Weimer did the same in second.

Chad Reed, on the TwoTwo Motorsports Honda, also got away up front but dropped back when he bobbled. He spent the rest of the race working back through the pack.

Meanwhile, last week’s opening-round winner Ryan Villopoto got off to a good start but ran into a fallen Davey Millsaps on the first lap. Villopoto picked back up in dead last but mounted a hard charge after that and worked his way up through the pack. He ended up passing GEICO Powersport Honda’s Kevin Windham on the last lap to get on the podium, finishing third behind Dungey and Weimer.

For Weimer, it was his first podium in the Supercross class.

Windham ended up fourth, followed by Reed.

An under-the-weather James Stewart, on the Toyota/JGRMX Racing Yamaha, got off to a midpack start and was on the move when he fell in the sand pit section. He dropped out of the top 10, but ended up finishing eighth.

Jake Weimer Phoenix SX.

Villopoto and Dungey are now tied for the series points lead with 45 points each, while Reed and Weimer are tied for second with 38 points each.

“This was a big step in the right direction for KTM,” Dungey said. “They’ve been behind me the whole way and believed in me. We’ve come a long way since the off-season, but there’s still a lot of racing to go. I got off to a great start and moved into the lead early, which made it nice on myself.”

Villopoto was happy to get third after coming from last place.

“It was a tough night,” Villopoto said. “Davi went down in front of me in the sand and I went right into him. It happened on the first lap, and when that happens, you have your work cut out. I salvaged a lot of points tonight, so that was good.”

In the West Supercross Lites main, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson took the win. Wilson got off to a fast start after passing teammate Tyla Rattray early on. He rode steady and fast race throughout the 15-lap main, pulling away from the pack as the race wore on to score the victory. Wilson was sixth last week at Anaheim.

“This feels great,” said Wilson. “Last weekend just wasn’t me. I think I was too confident coming in. It means so much to get this win.”
Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin finished second after battling Rattray for much of the race. It was Musquin first podium finish in Supercross.
GEICO Honda Powersport Honda’s Eli Tomac finished fourth and last week’s winner Troy Lee Design/Lucas Oil Honda’s Cole Seely took fifth.
Zach Osborne was sixth.

Rattray moved into the West Lites points lead but by just one point over Seely, 42-41. Wilson is third with 40.

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
3. 3. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
4. Kevin Windham (Hon)
5. 5. Chad Reed (Hon)
6. Andrew Short (Hon)
7. Trey Canard (Hon)
8. James Stewart (Yam)
9. Brett Metcalfe (Suz)
10. 10. Josh Hansen (Kaw)

Lites West
1. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
2. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
3. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
4. Eli Tomac (Hon)’
5. Cole Seely (Hon)
6. Zach Osborne (Yam)
7. Json Anderson (Suz)
8. Nico Izzi (Yam)
9. Max Anstie (Hon)
10. Travis Baker

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.