Bell, Esposito Win Henderson 250

Mark Kariya | December 5, 2011

THR Motorsports racers Robby Bell and Shane Esposito jumped out to an early lead and held it all the way to win the extremely fast, chilly TransWest Ford Henderson 250, the sixth and final round of Best in the Desert’s American Off-road Racing Series, in Jean, Nevada, on December 2.

Robby Bell.

Robby Bell.

However, their victory wasn’t enough to wrap up the series championship. Going into the finale, they trailed Purvines Racing’s David Pearson, who soloed the race to second-place place, taking the checkered flag 15 seconds behind the winning duo.

Defending series champions Jerry Parsons and Anthony Westbay took their RPP Racing Team KTM to third place, some 16 minutes back while Tuffy Pearson and Jeremy Purvines were the fifth bikes to the finish, unofficially, winning 250cc Pro. That probably wasn’t enough to erase the gap in points to the Jesse Canepa/Matt Canepa team that was second in class for the day after a penalty.

Mark Kariya | Contributor

Kariya spends way too much time in the desert, but we’re glad he does as he’s the man who gets us our coverage of all things sandy.