Blazusiak Wraps Up EnduroCross Title

Kit Palmer | November 20, 2011
Taddy Blazusiak captured his third EnduroCross title. Photography By Kit Palmer
Photography By Kit Palmer

Taddy Blazusiak captured his third EnduroCross title.

Taddy Blazusiak capped off a perfect season with – you guessed it – a perfect night at the final round of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross, presented by Lucas Oil, in Las Vegas, November 19. The KTM factory pilot went into the Las Vegas round riding a six-race win streak and an enormous points lead. When all was said and done, Blazusiak won both main events and walked away with his third straight AMA EnduroCross Championship inside of a packed Orleans Arena.

Blazusiak officially wrapped up the title in the first of two 10-lap finals, topping Kawasaki’s Justin Soule and Zip-Ty Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder.

Going into the second main event, all that was left for Blazusiak to do was to go after the perfect season. Blazusiak jumped out to a fast start, overtaking GEICO Honda’s Kyle Redmond for the lead and that was it. The rider from Poland ran off with his eighth win of the year, completing the undefeated season.

“It has been a really crazy year,” Blazusiak said. “I am so happy to win the championship and to have a perfect season is amazing. It hasn’t completely sunk in yet but I am so happy to have been the first to remain undefeated in the series and to wrap up my third consecutive championship.”

Second place in the second final went to Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert, which was his first ever EnduroCross podium. Third went to Blazusiak’s teammate Mike Brown, who finished out the championship in second place.

Third in the championship went to Soule who overtook Geoff Aaron at the Vegas final.

In addition to finishing on the podium in race two, Robert won the E3 Spark Plugs Junior Championship, which recognizes expert riders that are 21 and under.

KTM rider Max Gerston, from Scottsdale, Arizona, won the Open Amateur final and captured the Open Amateur EnduroCross Grand Championship.

KTM rider Kurt Nicoll took top honors in the Vet final, while Bryan Roper won the TrialsCross event.

Colorado’s Eric Rhoten (Kawasaki) won the Baja Designs Night Race over Honda rider Ryan Rogers.

In the Freegun Underwear Women’s Invitation, KTM-mounted Louise Forsey took the win, followed by GNCC Women’s champ Maria Forsburg, Rachel gutish, Kacy Martinez and Nicole Madsen.



Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.