Bobryshev, Roczen Take Teutschenthal MX

Jean Turner | July 11, 2011

Honda World Motocross’ Evgeny Bobryshev made history in Teutschenthal, Germany, July 10, by obtaining his maiden GP win and handing Russia it first GP victory in more than 30 years. Vladimir Kavinov was the last Russian to win a motocross grand prix. In the first moto, Bobryshev crossed the finish line four seconds ahead of defending champ, KTM Red Bull Teka’s Antonio Cairoli, and a little less than that in the second moto, going 1-1 on the day.

Cairoli was fast in Germany but mistakes kept him off the top step after all was said and done. The Italian bobbled a few times in moto one and fell on the opening lap of moto two while leading. He ended up going 2-2 on the day.The third overall was Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1’s Clement Desalle who is still mending from injuries. The Belgian finished fifth in the first race, and he gave it all in the second moto to finish third.Honda World Motocross’ Gonçalves finished a solid seventh in race one and took an impressive fourth in race race two.Home rider Max Nagl started at the front in both motos but could not keep his pursuers’ rhythm and finished fourth and seventh, respectively.Christophe Pourcel made his Kawasaki CLS debut but withdrew from both motos.

Germany’s own Ken Roczen dominated the first MX2 moto, but he made a mistake in the opening lap of race two and had to push very hard to cross the finish line in the third position. He was, however, rewarded with the overall win.Monster Energy Yamaha’s Gautier Paulin pretty much led from start to finish in the second moto, his 4-1 giving him second overall.Third overall with a 3-2 was CLS Monster Energy Kawasaki Pro Circuit’s Tommy Searle.Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing MX2’s Jeffrey Herlings was fourth overall. The Dutch rider was second in the first race and fourth in the second moto.Herlings is now 19 points behind his teammate Roczen.Completing the top five was Bike-it Cosworth Yamaha’s Arnaud Tonus with a 6-5 result.American Zach Osborne obtained a solid sixth overall despite being recently diagnosed with the Epstein-Barr virus.

RESULTSMX1 MOTO 1 (top 10): 1. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 39:44.894; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:04.021; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:05.673; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:06.777; 5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:22.381; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:25.319; 7. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:40.536; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:48.745; 9. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:51.773; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:54.969;MX1 MOTO 2 (top 10): 1. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 39:48.006; ; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:03.710; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:21.504; 4. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:27.394; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:32.547; 6. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:36.851; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:38.614; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:41.565; 9. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +1:08.997; 10. Marc de Reuver (NED, Yamaha), +1:19.049;MX1 O/A (top 10): 1. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 50 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 36 p.; 4. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 32 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 32 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 31 p.; 7. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 8. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 26 p.; 9. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 25 p.; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 23 p.;MX1 POINTS STANDINGS: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 366 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 348 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 326 p.; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 294 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 282 p.; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 250 p.; 7. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 249 p.; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 204 p.; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 203 p.; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 203 p.;MX2 MOTO 1 (top 10): 1. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), 39:30.327; ; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:11.095; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:37.788; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:42.372; 5. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +0:44.026; 6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:46.285; 7. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, KTM), +0:46.870; 8. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +1:00.055; 9. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +1:20.513; 10. Valentin Teillet (FRA, Suzuki), +1:24.360;MX2 MOTO 2 (top 10): 1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), 39:55.909; ; 2. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:03.228; 3. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), +0:15.049; 4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:19.232; 5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:28.423; 6. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +0:31.649; 7. Valentin Teillet (FRA, Suzuki), +0:55.312; 8. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +0:58.734; 9. Antonio Jose Butron Oliva (ESP, KTM), +1:06.627; 10. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:08.155;MX2 O/A (top 10): 1. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), 45 points; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), 43 p.; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 42 p.; 4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 40 p.; 5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), 31 p.; 6. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 31 p.; 7. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), 26 p.; 8. Valentin Teillet (FRA, Suzuki), 25 p.; 9. Antonio Jose Butron Oliva (ESP, KTM), 22 p.; 10. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), 18 p.;MX2 POINTS STANDINGS (top 10): 1. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), 396 points; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 377 p.; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 328 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), 319 p.; 5. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 265 p.; 6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), 256 p.; 7. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 215 p.; 8. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), 197 p.; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, KTM), 192 p.; 10. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), 170 p.




Jean Turner | Contributor

A former staffer at Cycle News, Turner continues to contribute to the website and magazine as a columnist and someone we can count on to whip up a few thousand words on an off-road race when needed.