Villopoto Victorious at High Point

| June 11, 2011

MT. MORRIS, PA. (June 11, 2011) – It was a Kawasaki day at the 2011 High Point National. Ryan Villopoto broke through to earn his first Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship victory of the season Saturday. The Monster Energy Kawasaki rider won the first 450 moto under bright sunshine and then scored second to Chad Reed in a mudder in the second moto, which started moments after a heavy rain shower hit the track. Not only did the win give Villopoto his first victory of the summer, he also gained six points on series leader Reed in the standings.

Ryan Dungey scored second overall with a 2-3 finish on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki. Dungey recovered after an early crash in the slimy second moto.

Reed went 5-1 to finish third overall. He rode in pain after a rock hit his collarbone, leaving him with a deep cut. Yet in spite of his injury he was smooth in the muddy second moto on his Two Two Motorsports Honda, and pulled away for a convincing win. He rode much of the moto without goggles.

After three rounds Reed now leads the series by 15 points over Villopoto, 138-123.

“Everything fell into place for me in the first moto,” Villopoto said. “Having that week off was good for me and I feel a lot better. That second moto was so difficult; you really couldn’t ride like you normally do. I was cautious in the early laps and waited for the track to work in a little bit and it did.”

Mike Alessi scored a fourth overall in his return to the outdoor nationals after crashing in the season opener at Hangtown. Alessi was credited with a 4-4. He actually finished third in the first moto, but was docked a position for jumping the starting gate. Davi Millsaps went 3-9 to take fifth,

In the 250 class it was Blake Baggett going 1-1 on his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki to score his second overall victory of the season. Baggett picked himself up after a hard crash in the second moto, and chased down teammate Tyla Rattray late in the moto to earn the perfect score.




“I high-sided and went hit the ground head first,” said Baggett, who becomes the first two-time winner of the series. “It knocked the visor on my helmet backwards, but I was able to get refocused and chip away and get back into it. Hitting the ground and having to make a comeback isn’t the way I like to win them, but a win is a win.”

Rattray went 3-2 to score second overall. With a 6-3 Factory Connection Honda’s Eli Tomac rounded out the podium finishers.

Series leading coming into Saturday’s race Dean Wilson (2-8) was fourth, another victim of a crash in the muddy second moto. Broc Tickle was fifth overall, having a stronger outing in the mud with a 10-4.

Rattray will wear the red number plate next week at Budds Creek after taking over the series lead. He’s now two up on Wilson. Baggett made a strong move up in the standings and is now only nine points behind Wilson in third.

The series moves to Budd Creek, Maryland, next Saturday, June 18, for round four of the 12-event championship.

Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship
Rockstar Energy High Point National
High Point Raceway – Mt. Morris, Pa.
June 11, 2011
Round 3 of 12

450 Class (Moto Finish)

1.Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1-2)
2.Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (2-3)
3.Chad Reed, Australia, Honda (5-1)
4.Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM (4-4)
5.Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha (3-9)
6.Kevin Windham, Baton Rouge, La., Honda (6-5)
7.Tommy Hahn, Great Bend, Kan., Yamaha (10-7)
8.Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Suzuki (8-10)
9.Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (7-11)
10.Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Yamaha (14-8)

450 Class Championship Standings
1.Chad Reed, Australia, Honda – 138
2.Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 123
3.Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 111
4.Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha – 104
5.Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Suzuki – 88
6.Kevin Windham, Baton Rouge, La., Honda – 76
7.Ricky Dietrich, Snohomish, Wash., Yamaha – 72
8.Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki – 68
9.Tommy Hahn, Great Bend, Kan., Yamaha – 65
10.Christian Craig, El Cajon, Calif., Honda – 59

250 Class (Moto Finish)
1.Blake Baggett, Redlands, Calif., Kawasaki (1-1)
2.Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (3-2)
3.Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (6-3)
4.Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (2-8)
5.Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki (10-4)
6.Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (8-7)
7.Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda (11-5)
8.Kyle Cunningham, Irving, Texas, Yamaha (5-11)
9.Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Honda (4-14)
10.Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Honda (13-6)

250 Class Championship Standings
1.Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki – 127
2.Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki – 125
3.Blake Baggett, Redlands, Calif., Kawasaki – 116
4.Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda – 104
5.Kyle Cunningham, Irving, Texas, Yamaha – 90
6.Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 79
7.Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda – 68
8.Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki – 67
9.Gareth Swanepoel, South Africa, Yamaha – 61
10.Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Suzuki – 53


Larry Lawrence