Fillmore Wins at Road America

Henny Ray Abrams | June 5, 2011

ELKHART LAKE, WI, JUNE 5 – Bruce Rossmeyers Daytona Racing’s Chris Fillmore extended his championship points lead with a thrilling win in the unpredictable Vance & Hines XR1200 race on a Sunday at Road America.Fillmore was part of the eight-rider pack fighting for the lead almost from the start of the fourth round of the series. The Michiganite was near the front of the pack when he ran wide entering the hard braking, downhill turn five, dropping him to the back of the pack on the fourth lap. Then began a recovery that had him quickly making his way to the front.Fillmore led across the stripe to take the white flag, with Drag Specialties’ Michael Barnes drafting into the lead and taking Bruce Rossmeyers Daytona Racing’s Danny Eslick with him.The next mass shuffle came in turn five. Four-wide into the left, Eslick slid into the lead from Fillmore, with Barnes third and the others close by.

The order at the front didn’t change until they exited Canada Corner and headed for the Billy Mitchell Bend turn 13. Eslick intentinoally slowed-no one wanted to lead out of the final corner-and Fillmore quickly scooted by.Fillmore led through the final turn and up the hill, with Eslick unable to take advantage of the draft.Fillmore’s second win of the year came with a .126 sec. margin of victory. Eslick had .130 sec. on Travis Wyman, the Harv’s Harley-Davidson rider who drafted up the front straight to take the final podium spot.The top seven finishers finished on the same second.Fillmore now leads the championship with 108 points to 87 for Steve Rapp (Parts Unlimited/Vance & Hines).

XR1200 Results:

1. Chris Fillmore

2. Danny Eslick

3. Travis Wyman

4. Michael Barnes

5. Steve Rapp

6. Shawn Higbee

7. Michael Beck

8. Tyler Ohara

9. Kyle Wyman

10. Michael Corbino


Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.