Twins Fast in Daytona Sportbike at Miller Motorsports Park

Henny Ray Abrams | May 28, 2011

TOOELE VALLEY, UTAH, MAY 28 – Jason DiSalvo’s professional career was in tatters when he left Miller Motorsports Park last year. He’d parted ways with the ParkinGO BE1 Triumph World Supersport team after a mostly frustrating seven rounds, leaving him without a ride. Today, on a cool overcast day, he returned to MMP as the runaway Daytona SportBike championship leader and riding a three race win streak. What a difference a year makes.DiSalvo finished the first DSB qualifying session unfazed by the weight added to the bike as a result of his dominance. He didn’t know the exact number-a few pounds, he thought-and it didn’t matter. The New Yorker finished with a best lap of 1:55.291 mins. to take the provisional pole for Sunday’s lone DSB race. The performance may have earned him the additional pole point if the forecast of rain on Sunday proves accurate.

“I always say racing is compromised of the highest of highs and the lowest of lows and definitely coming in here last year was the lowest of lows and this year it’s the highest of highs,” he said. “The contrast is pretty astounding, really. I’m so thankful for my team and to be in this position and everything. It’s just, it’s a wonderful thing and just going to make the most of it and keep pushing forward and doing the right thing and keep winning more races.”Of the added weight, he said, “I didn’t notice it, honestly.” The team ran a heavy fuel load to simulate race conditions. “I mean, it just felt like a regular race load. They always feel a little bit heavy even in the beginning of the race, even the 600. So, yeah, overall, I didn’t notice it at all.”Neither, apparently, did PJ Jacobsen. A fellow New Yorker, Jacobsen set the second fastest time of 1:55.616 mins., which nearly half a second faster than the first of the inline fours; Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Herrin at 1:56.100 mins. GP Parts’ Cameron Beaubier (Yam) was at the end of the overnight front row.

Daytona SportBike Qualifying:

1. Jason DiSalvo (Ducati) 1:55.291

2. PJ Jacobsen (Ducati) 1:55.616

3. Josh Herrin (Yamaha) 1:56.100

4. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha) 1:56.333

5. Paul Allison (Yamaha) 1:56.607

6. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki) 1:56.626

7. Danny Eslick (Suzuki) 1:56.645

8. Cory West (Suzuki) 1:56.666

9. Jake Holden (Ducati) 1:56.730

10. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha) 1:56.865


Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.