Stewart, Seely Storm Seattle SX

Jean Turner | April 17, 2011

James Stewart took another near-flawless win in Seattle, riding to a rather uneventful win at Qwest Field and taking another valuable step forward in the championship. The night wasn’t without a few shocking moments, however, such as Chad Reed’s spectacular get-off in the last laps of the main, Kevin Windham’s dominant heat race win, and the first-turn pile-up in the main event that sent Davi Millsaps’ YZ450F vaulting overhead.

Seattle fans were anxious to see GEICO Powersports Honda’s Windham take yet another Seattle Supercross victory, and after setting the hot lap in qualifying, it looked as though he might do exactly that. Windham went on to run down Ryan Dungey and fend off advances from Ryan Villopoto to take the heat race win, much to the crowd’s delight. In the main event, things didn’t go quite as well for “K-Dub” though he was able to keep it on two wheels long enough to battle Mike Alessi for third (yes, you read that correctly – Alessi was running third) and then capitalize on a mistake by Chad Reed late in the race to take second for the night.

Reed was able to park his Two-Two Motorsports Honda on the final step of the podium despite an ugly crash on a triple. Reed started well in the main, battling with Stewart in the early laps before settling into a solid second place for the majority of the 20 laps. With two laps to go, Reed came up short on a triple which sent him bouncing on his head and his CRF450R cartwheeling. Windham slipped by, but Reed rebounded rather quickly and scrambled to get moving before Villopoto also got by. Reed and Villopoto had a rousing side-by-side battle in the last lap which whipped the crowd into a frenzy. Reed maintained the point, leaving Villopoto to collect fourth followed by Dungey, who rounded out the top-five.

In the Lites class, it was another momentous night for the Troy Lee Designs Honda team. Cole Seely made his second career win a dominant one, as he gapped the field en route to a convincing win. GEICO Powersports Honda’s Eli Tomac took second after getting around Broc Tickle, leaving the Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider to collect third. Tickle was hoping for a better overall finish, but third was enough to put him in control of the Lites West Championship.

Tickle’s teammate, Josh Hansen, came into Seattle with the points lead, and had used the lengthy break in the series to rehabilitate his broken hand. Unfortunately Hansen managed to re-injure his hand (yet again) in a hard get-off in practice. Hanny was able to take the heat race win, but could only fight through the pain long enough to salvage a sixth-place finish in the main.

Kyle Cunningham was on his way to a podium finish, but couldn’t escape a few blunders that cost him several positions. The DNA Shred-Stix/Star Yamaha rider ultimately pulled off a fourth-place finish ahead of South African Tyla Rattray. Hansen took sixth ahead of the Rockstar Suzuki duo of Ryan Morais and Martin Davalos.


Tickle now holds the championship lead by a mere two points over Hansen, and Eli Tomac sits only five points back in third.Supercross Main Event

1. James Stewart (Yam)

2. Kevin Windham (Hon)

3. Chad Reed (Hon)

4. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)

5. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

6. Mike Alessi (KTM)

7. Kyle Regal (Yam)

8. Davi Millsaps (Yam)

9. Tommy Hahn (Yam)

10. Andrew Short (KTM)


Supercross Championship Points

1. Ryan Villopoto (293)

2. Chad Reed (287)

3. Ryan Dungey (286)

4. James Stewart (284)

5. Trey Canard (255)

6. Andrew Short (196)

7. Kevin Windham (187)

8. Davi Millsaps (156)

9. Justin Brayton (141)

10. Ivan Tedesco (134)Lites Main Event Results

1. Cole Seely (Hon)

2. Eli Tomac (Hon)

3. Broc Tickle (Kaw)

4. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)

5. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)

6. Josh Hansen (Kaw)

7. Ryan Morais (Suz)

8. Martin Davalos (Suz)

9. Travis Baker (Hon)

10. Gared Steinke (Kaw)


Lites West Championship Points

1. Broc Tickle (145/1 win)

2. Josh Hansen (143/3 wins)

3. Eli Tomac (138/1 win)

4. Cole Seely (113/2 wins)

5. Ryan Morais (110)

6. Tyla Rattray (96)

7. Kyle Cunningham (89)

8. Ken Roczen (83)

9. Martin Davalos (82)

10. James Decotis (67)

Jean Turner | Contributor

A former staffer at Cycle News, Turner continues to contribute to the website and magazine as a columnist and someone we can count on to whip up a few thousand words on an off-road race when needed.