Desalle, Roczen Top MX GP Opener

Cycle News Staff | April 11, 2011

Belgian Clement Desalle and German Ken Roczen posted the opening-round wins of the 2011 World Motocross Championship in Sevlievo, Bulgaria, April 9-10. Desalle, on the Rockstar Energy Suzuki, took the overall win in the MX1 class after trading moto wins with Monster Energy Yamaha’s Steven Frossard, while Red Bull KTM’s Roczen, fresh off his short Supercross tour in the U.S., won both motos in the MX2 class.Frossard won the first MX1 moto but couldn’t repeat after a heated battle with Desalle in the second moto.Third overall went to Spain’s Jonathan Barragan. The Kawasaki rider went 6-3 on the day, topping fourth-place finisher, German Max Nagl, who went 3-4 on his KTM.Honda’s Rui Goncalves rounded out the top five with a 5-5.Runner-up in the 2010 MX2 World Championship, Roczen, had a perfect weekend in Sevlievo. He took both holeshots and ruled both motos from beginning to end.Second overall was Tommy Searle on the CLS Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki. Searle, who spent last year racing the AMA Nationals, went 2-2 on the day.Roczen’s teammate Jeffrey Herlings had very good starts in both motos and finished of the day in third place.Monster Energy Yamaha’s Gautier Paulin was third in the first moto, but he did not have a good start in the second moto and finish seventh for fourth overall.American Zach Osborn, on the Bike-it Cosworth Wild Wolf Yamaha, broke into the top five with a 7-4.Fellow American Mike Leib did not race, as he’s still feeling the effects of a concussion he suffered a few weeks back.


MX 1 MOTO 1: 1. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 38:47.398; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:08.044; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:19.535; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:23.876; 5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:42.423; 6. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:44.452; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:48.293; 8. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:49.798; 9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:55.906; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +1:04.730MX1 MOTO 2: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 39:21.139; 2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:01.222; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:13.352; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:19.955; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:22.354; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:23.603; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:26.653; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:30.906; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +0:33.340; 10. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:33.861;

MX1 OVERALL: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 47 points; 2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 47 p.; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 35 p.; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 35 p.; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 29 p.; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 27 p.; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 26 p.; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), 26 p.; 9. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 25 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 25 p.

MX2 MOTO 1: 1. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), 39:24.881; ; 2. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:14.667; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:19.972; 4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:21.255; 5. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:25.587; 6. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), +0:39.301; 7. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +1:01.188; 8. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +1:07.192; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, KTM), +1:12.012; 10. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), +1:13.374MX2 MOTO 2: 1. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), 39:35.555; ; 2. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:21.468; 3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:30.621; 4. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +0:35.375; 5. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), +0:38.982; 6. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:43.344; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:55.018; 8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:58.330; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, KTM), +0:59.768; 10. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +1:41.625

MX2 OVERALL: 1. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), 50 points; 2. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 44 p.; 3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 36 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), 34 p.; 5. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 32 p.; 6. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), 31 p.; 7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), 31 p.; 8. Max Anstie (GBR, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, KTM), 24 p.; 10. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 19 p.