Lafferty Gets The Gator

Shan Moore | March 10, 2011

Michael Lafferty won the 61st running of the Alligator Enduro on the sandy, palmetto-filled trails near Daytona Beach, Florida. The victory marks the 11th time the factory Husaberg rider has won the famed enduro, but this year’s win might have been one of his closest, as FMF/KTM’s Russell Bobbitt tied the eight-time national champ on overall score, each rider turning in a 19-point score card at the end of the day. The tie-breaker came down to seconds and when the final tally was posted, Lafferty held the edge by just 40 seconds.

Third place went to Husaberg factory rider Nick Fahringer, while JG Off-road/GEICO Powersports Honda’s Jimmy Jarrett finished fourth in one of his rare enduro appearances.


Overall Results

1.  Mike Lafferty (Hsb)

2. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

3. Nick Fahringer (Hsb)

4. Jimmy Jarrett (Hon)

5. Wally Palmer (Hon)



Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.