Allerton Wins Second Race at Symmons Plains

Cycle News Staff | March 5, 2011

Procon Maxima BMW’s Glenn Allerton increased his championship lead with a win in the second leg of today’s second round of the Viking Australian Superbike Championship at Symmons Plains.Allerton had been strong in the first race, leading laps two through five and always a part of the tight, five-rider pack fighting for the win. He fell as far back as fifth, before recovering on the penultimate lap to take third, only .580 secs. behind winner Josh Waters (Suzuki).In race two, Allerton was again strong throughout, even stronger. Allerton hounded race leader Wayne Maxwell of Team Honda before setting up a pass on the 15th of 20 laps of the 1.5-mile circuit near Perth, Tasmania.Allerton’s 16th lap was the fastest and he quickly pulled away, winning by 1.609 secs. Maxwell’s teammate Jamie Stauffer was a close third, followed by race one winner Josh Waters (Suzuki).”I felt really comfortable on the bike today,” said Allerton. “The problem with the front brake in race one cost me a chance to attack and I knew I had to make it up this afternoon.”We pulled together as a team and got it done, thanks to everyone involved for a huge effort this weekend.”We’ll look to Darwin now and try a few more things to develop the bike further. There’s more progress to be made and I can’t wait to get to Hidden Valley and try to work on building my championship lead further.”Team Suzuki’s Troy Herfoss was alone in fifth, with Robbie Budgen (Team Mack Truck Suzuki) edging Ben Attard (1 Style Natural Aprilia) for sixth.Allerton, who’d swept both races in the opening round at Phillip Island, stretched his points lead to 23 over Herfoss, 93 to 70, after the second of eight rounds. Stauffer is third with 66, one up on Attard.

Race Two:

1. Glenn Allerton (BMW)

2. Wayne Maxwell (Honda)

3. Jamie Stauffer (Honda)

4. Joshua Waters (Suzuki)

5. Troy Herfoss (Suzuki)

6. Robert Budgen (Suzuki)

7. Ben Attard (Aprilia)

8. Kris McLaren (Honda)

9. Craig Coxhell (Honda)

10. Cole Odendaal (Honda)