Hansen Wins Again in New Zealand

Cycle News Staff | November 20, 2010

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Josh Hansen was the only rider to stay relatively clean on a wet and muddy night en route to his second series win in a rowin the fifth round of the Monster Energy Super X at Carisbrook Stadium in Dunedin, New Zealand.Heavy rains forced race officials to cancel practice and timed qualifying, with the riders going straight into the heat races.Hansen won the first heat over Jake Moss (Rockstar Motul Suzuki), with Tye Simmonds (JDR Motorex KTM) beating CDR Rockstar Yamaha’s Jay Marmont in the second heat.Hansen jumped out front in both of the 12-lap races of the Double Header format and sped to victory both times. By winning his second round in a row, Hansen stretched his championship lead over CDR Rockstar Yamahas to 46 points. Hansen has 275 to 229 for Marmont after five of seven rounds. Hansen could wrap up the title when the series returns to Australia for the sixth round in Parramatta Stadium on the outskirts of Sydney.”That was a scary one, especially with points,” Hansen said. “It was super wet, very muddy and a lot of lappers. Starts were really important and I had to be consistent and smart out there. It’s great to have the support I have behind me. Big thanks to everyone who has made it possible to be here and Troy Carroll from the Kawasaki Racing Team for all his help. This series is really cool and has been a lot of fun.”Marmont finished fourth overall in Dunedin behind JDR Motorex KTM’s Tye Simmonds who had his best result of the season by finishing second and third to take third overall. In the second moto, Simmonds just lost out to Rockstar Motul Suzuki’s Jake Moss, with the pair tying on points for the night. Moss ended up second by virtue of finishing second in the second moto.


1. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki)

2. Jake Moss (Suzuki)

3. Tye Simmonds (KTM)

4. Jay Marmont (Yamaha)

5. Cody Cooper (Suzuki)

6. Todd Waters (Honda)

7. Justin McDonald (Honda)

8. Mason Phillips (Kawasaki)

9. Daniel Reardon (Racing)

10. Daniel McCoy (KTM)Series Standings (After five of seven rounds):

1. Josh Hansen (Kawasaki) 275

2. Jay Marmont (Yamaha) 229

3. Jake Moss (Suzuki) 194

4. Tye Simmonds (KTM) 191

5. Daniel Reardon (Honda) 162

6. Todd Waters (Honda) 155

7. Daniel McCoy (KTM) 148

8. Mike Alessi (KTM) 127

9. Justin Brayton (Toyota) 121

10. Lewis Woods (KTM) 112