Blazusiak Wins Las Vegas EX Final

Kit Palmer | November 22, 2010

Taddy Blazusiak capped off his stellar endurocross season with a dominant win at the final round of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship, presented by E3 Sparkplugs, at The Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada, November 20. The win was his fifth of the six-round series and it also solidified the 2010 championship for the Red Bull-KTM rider from Poland.

Once Blazusiak had qualified for the main event via his heat-race win earlier in the evening, he had essentially wrapped up the 2010 title. All that was left was for him to do at that point to make it official was to just show up on the start line of the final and the number-one plate would be his. So it came as little surprise that he rolled up to the starting gate with the number-one plate already affixed to his factory 250EX KTM two-stroke. Still, he had some unfinished business to take care of.

When the gate dropped for the finale, Blazusiak’s closest rival throughout the year, Christini/KTM-Red Bull’s Geoff Aaron, forced his way into the lead, capturing the Girardi Wealth Management $750 Holeshot award, but the multi-time National Trials champ couldn’t hold back the newly crowned EnduroCross champ for long. Aaron gave Blazusiak a bit of a fight before giving way to the former world-class trials rider. On an extremely challenging and unforgiving race course, Blazusiak quickly opened up a comfortable but cautious lead and rode a near-flawless race to take the win with room to spare over Aaron, who wrapped up second place in the championship.

Third on the night went to Gas Gas rider and 2010 AMA Trials Champion Cody Webb, who landed on the endurocross podium for the first time of his career. Webb held control of that position for much of the race but was passed by Colton Haaker, who then crashed and handed the spot back to Webb.

Fourth place went to KTM’s Mike Brown, who spent much of the race battling with Kawasaki rider Justin Soule before settling into the number-four position.

Haaker ended up fifth and Soule sixth. For Soule, sixth was enough to give him third place in the championship.

Seventh place went to Kawasaki rider Kyle Redmond, followed by Jamie Lanza (Kawasaki), Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna), Kevin Rookstool (KTM) and Destry Abbott (Kawasaki).

Other championships were decided on the night as well. Top finishers from the support classes through out the year, as well as daytime qualifiers, earned the right to compete for AMA number-one plates on the night.

Husqvarna’s Ty Davis scored the 35+ Vet-class win over Todd Sciacqua and former GP motocross star Kurt Nicol. Luke Reynolds captured the Open Amateur class number-one trophy, while multi-time National Trials Champion Patrick Smage took the TrialsCross Championship over Bryan Roper and Shad Petersen.

Destry Abbott, a crowd favorite, and Matt Crouch were also honored with Spirit of EnduroCross awards for their contributions and commitment to the sport.

Blazusiak had little time to celebrate his first AMA EnduroCross Championship, as he hopped on a flight to Italy the next morning to compete in the opening round of the 2011 FIM World Indoor Enduro Championship this weekend.




1. Taddy Blazusiak      KTM

2. Geoff Aaron Christini      KTM

3. Cody Webb      Gas Gas

4. Mike Brown KTM

5. Colton Haaker  Kawasaki

6. Justin Soule   Kawasaki

7. Kyle Redmond   Kawasaki

8. Jamie Lanza    Kawasaki

9. Cory Graffunder      Husqvarna

10. Kevin Rookstool     KTM

11. Destry Abbott Kawasaki

12. Gary Sutherlin      Kawasaki

13. Matt Oppen    Kawasaki

14. Jacob Argubright    Kawasaki

15. Dennis Sweeten      KTM

16. Rory Sullivan Kawasaki

17. Homero Diaz   KTM

18. Keith Sweeten KTM

19. Taylor Robert Kawasaki

20. Nick Burson   Husqvarna


 VET 35+

1. Ty Davis Husqvarna

2. Jimmy Lewis    KTM

3. Josh Adams     KTM

4. Adam Booth     Kawasaki

5. Tod Sciacqua   Yamaha

6. Rich Black     KTM

7. Oakley Lehman  Kawasaki

8. Joe Kopp Honda

9. Mike Evans     Hon

10. Jeremy Deming Yam

11. Ryan Bradish  Honda

12. Danny Cooper  Honda



1. Bryan Roper    Sherco

2. Shad Pedersen  Beta

3. Zach Sweeten   Montesa

4. Billy Burgener Gas Gas

5. Keith Adams    Gas Gas

DNF Jimmy Lewis   KTM



1. Travis Coy     Honda

2. Mark McGregor  KTM

3. Luke Reynolds  Kawasaki

4. Steven Miller  Honda

5. Colby Begin    Kawasaki

6. Craig Sanders  Yamaha

7. Carl Miller    Honda

8. Dustin McCarthy      Yamaha

9. Jacob Thompson Suzuki

10. David Broderick     Kawasaki

11. John Achey    Kawasaki

DNF. Jesse Canepa Yam



1. Patrick Smage  Sherco

2. Bryan Roper    Sherco

3. Ty Davis Husqvarna

4. Ryan Sandoval  Gas Gas

5. Shad Petersen  Beta

6. Luke Reynolds  Kawasaki

7. Travis Coy     Honda

8. Zach Sweeten   Montesa

9. Kurt Nicol     KTM

DNF Mark McGregor KTM

DNF Josh Adams    KTM

DNF Tod Sciacqua  Yamaha



1. Jacob Argubright     Kawasaki

2. Matt Oppen     Kawasaki

3. Homero Diaz    KTM

4. Keith Sweeten  KTM

5. Dennis Sweeten KTM

6. Nick Burson    Husqvarna

DNF Gary Sutherlin      Kawasaki

DNF Taylor Robert Kawasaki

DNF Ian Blythe    KTM

DNF Rory Sullivan Kawasaki



1. Luke Reynolds  Kawasaki

2. Mark McGregor  KTM

3. Ryan Sandoval  Gas Gas

4. Travis Coy     Honda

5. Caleb Wohletz  Kawasaki

6. Matt Crouch    Kawasaki

7. Michael Williams     Kawasaki

8. Nick Burson    Husqvarna

9. Ian Blythe     KTM

10. Steven Miller Honda


1. Patrick Smage  Sherco

2. Bryan Roper    Sherco

3. Shad Petersen  Beta

4. Zach Sweeten   Montesa

5. Christy Williams     Gas Gas

6. Keith Adams    Gas Gas

7. Chris Green

DNF Phil Smage    Sherco

DNF Billy Burgener      Gas Gas



1. Ty Davis Husqvarna

2. Tod Sciacqua   Yamaha

3. Kurt Nichol    KTM

4. Josh Adams     KTM

5. Steve Leivan   Yamaha

6. Dennis Sweeten KTM

7. Martie Wells   Kawasaki

8. Adam Booth     Kawasaki

9. Dean Nail      Suzuki

10. Shane Doncaca Yamaha

DNF Jimmy Lewis   KTM



1. Taddy Blazusiak KTM

2. Geoff Aaron Christini KTM

3. Justin Soule Kawasaki

4. Cory Graffunder Husqvarna

5. Kyle Redmond Kawasaki

6. Gary Sutherlin Kawasaki

7. Colton Haaker Kawasaki

8. Kevin Rookstool KTM

9. Cody Webb Gas Gas

10. Mike Brown KTM

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.