Allerton Wins First Australian Superbike Race, Herfoss Wins Title

Cycle News Staff | November 13, 2010

Valvoline Superbike Glenn Allerton took his first win of the season in race one of the Viking Group Australian Superbike series at Symmons Plains, Australia.Starting fourth on the grid, Allerton sped to the front and set one fast lap after another to win the 14-lap race by 1.635 secs. over pole-sitter Jamie Stauffer (Ducati Motologic Racing).”I got a reasonable start and knew that it was going to be a race where there would be some big breaking duels between the boys,” Allerton, the 2008 Australian Superbike champion, said. “I didn’t want to get stuck in the middle of that because I didn’t have the best straight line speed this weekend going off practice and qualifying.”I tried to get to the front straight away and as soon as I did just tried to do my qualifying laps each time, stringing as many perfect laps together as I could.”The gap got out to about 1.5 seconds and someone started closing but I knew I had it, I’d worked this hard and wasn’t about to let it go.Allerton has had a tough year and the win was “a massive relief. I train so hard during the off-season and when we’re not racing, and the last 12 months have been really hard to get my career back on track. It paid off today and it feels absolutely awesome.”Stauffer put a strong move on Team Suzuki’s Josh Waters on the sixth lap to take over second place.Third through fifth were debated the entire race, with Waters holding off the two remaining championship contenders, Cougar Bourbon Honda Racing’s Bryan Staring and Demolition Plus GAS Honda’s Wayne Maxwell.Staring was able to add to his championship lead, but couldn’t clinch the title in advance of Sunday’s final race of the series.Sunday’s 16-lap finale will crown a first-time champion, who will add his name to a list that includes Malcolm Campbell, Mat Mladin and Troy Corser, among others.Former AMA Supermoto Champion Troy Herfoss won the 2010 Insure My Ride Australian Supersport Champion with a victory in Saturday’s race.Herfoss, the 2008 Supermoto championship winner, won the 14-lap race from Triumph’s Christian Casella and Suzuki’s Brodie Waters. Heading into Sunday’s race he has an insurmountable points lead.Herfoss has six wins, eight podiums and four pole positions in 2010.Viking Group Australian Superbike Championship, Round 7 – Symmons Plains, Race 11. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW) / Valvoline Superbike Team

2. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW) / Ducati Motologic Racing

3. Joshua WATERS (VIC) / Team Suzuki

4. Bryan STARING (QLD/WA) / Cougar Bourbon Honda Racing

5. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC) / Demolition Plus GAS Honda Racing

6. Robert BUGDEN (QLD) / Team Suzuki

7. Scott CHARLTON (NSW) / Racer’s Edge Performance Suzuki

8. Kris McLAREN (VIC) / McLaren Motorsports

9. Beau BEATON (NSW) / North Coast V-Twins / Agip Racing Ducati

10. Craig COXHELL (VIC) / CJC Racing BMWInsure My Ride Australian Supersport Championship, Round 7 – Symmons Plains, Race 21. Troy HERFOSS (VIC) / Team Suzuki

2. Christan CASELLA (VIC) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph

3. Brodie WATERS (VIC) / Waters Racing

4. Aaron GOBERT (NSW) / AGR Inc / Bell Helmets / Yamaha / Dynojet

5. Ben BURKE (NSW) Yamaha

6. Nicholas WATERS (VIC) / Waters Racing

7. Chris QUINN (NSW) / The Cannon Store / Coopers Pale Ale

8. Des DARBY (QLD) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph

9. Ryan TAYLOR (VIC) / Pakenham Yamaha / Monitor my Super

10. Andy LAWSON Jnr (QLD) / Champion’s Ride Days Race Team / Palfinger