Reed Wins Super X Opening Round

Shan Moore | October 16, 2010

Chad Reed won the opening round of the Monster Energy Super X series in Energy Australia stadium in Newcastle. Riding his new TeamVodafone-backed Honda, topped US imports Josh Hansen and Justin Brayton in the double-header format.A crowd of over 12,500 watched on as Reed passed the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit-backed Hansen, and then Cougar Bourbon Thor Honda’s Dan Reardon to win the opening moto. Hansen held on for second, with Reardon beating out CDR Rockstar Yamah’s Jay Marmont finished fourth. Meanwhile, Brayton moved his Muscle Milk/Toyota JGRMX Yamaha through the pack to finish fifth.

Reed took the early lead in moto two, with Brayton second and Reardon third. Hansen passed Reardon on the third lap and the three internationals held their position until the end with Reed throwing a huge whip to his home crowd fans once over the finish line.”First and foremost I want to thank all of the Newcastle fans for coming tonight,” said Reed. “It has been a long term plan to have a race here and after three years it has finally happened. I felt right at home racing out there tonight and it feels great to get the win. 2010 has been a tough year for me, but I had a blast riding tonight.”

Hansen finished second overall for the evening with his 2-3 performance.”I rode really consistent tonight so I’m happy,” said Hansen. “I had great fun here tonight and I am really enjoying Australia. I’ve got to thank Monster for making this possible.”

Meanwhile, Brayton was third overall after going 4-2.”My first race didn’t go to plan, but I managed to get a good start in the second so it was a good result,” said Brayton. “Reed is racing great and it’s good for him to get the win in front of his hometown. I am really enjoying Australia and I am looking forward to the next two rounds.”

The series now heads to Canberra for the second round at Canberra Stadium next weekend.

OPEN Top Ten Results – Round 1

1. Chad REED – TeamVodafone: 50

2. Josh HANSEN – Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki: 42

3. Justin BRAYTON – Muscle Milk / Toyota JGRMX: 38

4. Daniel REARDON – Cougar Bourbon Honda Thor Racing:38

5. Jay MARMONT – CDR Rockstar Yamaha: 34

6. Tye SIMMONDS – JDR Motorex KTM: 27

7. Todd WATERS – Cougar Bourbon Thor Honda:27

8. Daniel McCOY – Coastal KTM Motorex Team:27

9. Jake MOSS – Team Rockstar Motul Suzuki:27

10. Craig ANDERSON – Berry Sweet / Pro Grip / Talon / RHK / Forma:


Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.