Aaron Wins Denver EnduroCross

Shan Moore | October 31, 2010

Denver, CO (October 30, 2010) – Geoff Aaron put a stop to Taddy Blazusiak’s run of success in this year’s GEICO AMA EnduroCross series presented by E3 Sparkplugs by taking a popular win at round five of the series in National Western Complex in Denver Colorado.

In front of a highly partisan crowd, the Bailey, Colorado resident put his GEICO Powersports Christini KTM on the top step of the podium, ending Blazusiak’s chances of sweeping the series and extending the series title chase to the final round in Las Vegas.

Blazusiak came into the Denver race having won the previous four rounds and needing only to finish on the podium to wrap up the EnduroCross title before the series finale in Vegas. But after grabbing the holeshot to start the 20-lap final, a piece of debris lodged in Blazusiak’s front brake caliper which left the Polish KTM rider struggling to maintain the pace of the front-runners.

After getting around an on-the-gas Kyle Redmond, Aaron took control of the race on lap two and never looked back. Not far behind, Monster Kawasaki’s Justin Soule was moving through the pack, finishing the race a good distance behind Aaron, but right in front of a challenging Colton Haaker.

Aaron’s win was his first of the year and it solidified the former 10-time National Trials Champion’s status as a full-fledged member of the EnduroCross elite.

“This is great to get this win in front of all of my friends and family, the fans here are great,” said Aaron. “I knew Taddy was back in the pack and I just tried to ride smooth and not make mistakes and other than a small mistake near the end the plan worked out.”

Soule turned in his best finish of his rookie season by taking the runner-up position, while Lucas Oil Kawasaki rider Colton Haaker claimed his first podium of the year with a hard-fought third.

“I worried about only one thing tonight: Hitting my lines.” Soule said. “I just wanted to ride smart, keep it together and pull out a good finish. I’ve been extremely close before and it seems like something always happens, so I was pumped to make it happen tonight. Plus, my team manager told me that I was just riding around like a girl at the last round, so I had to prove him wrong!”

The series now moves to Vegas on November 20th where Blazusiak will try to claim his second straight title.

1. Geoff Aaron (KTM)
2. Justin Soule (Kaw)
3. Colton Haaker (Kaw)
4. Kyle Redmond (Kaw)
5. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
6. Gary Sutherlin (Kaw)
7. Cody Webb (G-G)
8. Cory Graffunder (Hus)
9. Kevin Rookstool (KTM)
10. Jamie Lanza (Kaw)
11. Ryan Sandoval (KTM)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.