2011 World Superbike Championship Calendar

Cycle News Staff | October 7, 2010

The 2011 World Superbike Championship will be 13 rounds, with the U.S. race again on the Monday of Memorial Day weekend. But there are a few other changes, with the series no longer going to South Africa and the season finale moving from France to Portugal.The season begins, as it did this year, at Phillip Island south of Melbourne, Australia on the final weekend of February.The second race is the European round on March 27 at a circuit to be determined. Last year’s second round was in Portimao, Portugal on the final weekend in March. For 2011, Portimao moves to the last race of the season on October 16.The Netherlands race is now a week earlier on April 17 at the Circuit van Drenthe in Assen.After Assen comes Monza on the traditional date in the beginning of May. From Monza the series went to Kyalami this year. But the South African race is no longer on the schedule. Now, there’s a three week break to the Monday race at Miller Motorsports Park on Memorial Day weekend.Then comes a weekend off, with the series returning to Europe for the Misano round on June 12, two weeks early than this year’s race. From there the paddock moves straight to MotorLand Aragon, which replaces Valencia, on the following weekend. Aragon hosted its first ever MotoGP race in September.After a three week break the series return at Brno in the Czech Republic on July 10, the same weekend as this year.The next three rounds mimic this year’s calendar. Silverstone is next on the first weekend as August, roughly the same as this year, Nurgurgring four weeks later on Sept. 4, and Italy on September 26 at a circuit to be determined. This year’s third race in Italy was held in Imola.Then Magny-Cours in France on the first weekend in October, followed, two weeks on, by the finale in Portimao, Portugal.

February 27 Australia Phillip Island

March 27 Europe t.b.a

April 17 The Netherlands Assen

May 8 Italy Monza

May 30 (Monday) United States Miller Motorsport Park

June 12 San Marino Misano

June 19 Spain Motorland Aragon

July 10 Czech Republic Brno

July 31 Great Britain Silverstone

September 4 Germany Nurburgring

September 25 Italy t.b.a

October 2 France Magny Cours

October 16 Portugal Portimao