Team USA Sitting Pretty After MXoN Qualifying

Shan Moore | September 25, 2010

The American squad established its dominance during today’s qualifying at the 64th edition of the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations at Thunder Valley Raceway in Denver, Colorado, winning two of three motos and setting fastest time in the other. Qualifying motos were run this afternoon in the MX1, MX2 and Open divisions, setting the grids for tomorrows final races, and the day was highlighted by an amazing win by newly crowned 250cc AMA champ Trey Canard over German Suzuki rider Ken Roczen in the MX2 division and a runaway victory by Andrew Short in the Open class.In the MX1 qualifier, Italian Antonio Cairoli took a big win on his KTM, beating Aussie Honda rider Brett Metcalfe and French Yamaha rider Gautier Paulin. Team USA’s Ryan Dungey made some good passes, moving up from a mediocre start to an eventual fourth place finish. Despite his finish, Dungey posted the fastest lap of the day on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki, turning a 2:11.566, compared to a 2:12.346 for Cairoli.In the Open division, Short grabbed the holeshot on his Red Bull Racing Honda and pulled away to a nine-second victory over New Zealand’s Ben Townley. Meanwhile, Canard and Roczen locked horns in the MX2 class with Canard getting the win and the momentum heading into tomorrow’s showdown.By Sunday evening, Team USA hopes to claim its 21st overall and sixth consecutive victory in this legendary series.MX1 Qualifying

1. Antonio Cairoli, Italy (KTM)

2. Brett Metcalfe, Australia (Hon)

3. Gautier Paulin, France (Yam)

4. Ryan Dungey, USA (Suz)

5. Jonathan Barragan, Spain (Kaw)

6. Steve Ramon, Belgium (Suz)

7. Tanel Leok, Estonia (Hon)

8. Rui Goncalves, Portugal (KTM)

9. Jake Nichols, Great Britain (KTM)

10. Joshua Coppins, New Zealand (Apr)

11. Tyler Medaglia, Canada (KTM)

12. Matthias Walkner, Austria (KTM)

13. Akira Narita, Japan (Yamaha)

14. Gerald Gonzalez, Costa Rica (Kawasaki)

15. Maximilian Nagl, Germany (Suzuki)

MX2 Qualifying

1. Trey Canard, USA (Hon)

2. Ken Roczen, Germany (Suz)

3. Jeremy van Horebeek, Belgium (Kaw)

4. Zach Osborne, Portugal (Yam)

5. Marvin Musquin, France (KTM)

6. Martin Davalos, Ecuador (Yam)

7. Matiss Karro, Latvia (Suz)

8. Alessandro Lupino, Italy (Yam)

9. Dean Ferris, Austria (Hon)

10. Harri Kullas, Finland (Yam)

11. Valentin Guillod, Switzerland (KTM)

12. Martin Barr, Ireland (Hon)

13. Fredrik Noren, Sweden (Hon)

14. Brad Groombridge, New Zealand (Hon)

15. Kaven Benoit, Canada (KTM)MX3 (Open) Qualifying

1. Andrew Short, USA (Hon)

2. Ben Townley, New Zealand (Hon)

3. Kyle Regal, Puerto Rico (Hon)

4. Max Nagl, Germany (KTM)

5. Clement Desalle, Belgium (Suz)

6. Anotonio Balbi, Brazi (Kaw)

7. Arnaud Tonus, Switzerland (Suz)

8. Brad Anderson, Great Britain (Hon)

9. Yoshitaka Atsuta, Japan (Suz)

10. Jay Marmont, Australia (Yam)

11. Manuel Monni, Italy (Yam)

12. Gunter Schmidinger, Austria (Suz)

13. Alvaro Lozano, Spain (Yam)

14. Kyle Keast, Canada (Hon)

15. Luis Correia, Portugal (Yam)


Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.