Taddy Tops Washington EX

Shan Moore | September 12, 2010

Taddy Blazusiak remained perfect in this year’s GEICO AMA EnduroCross Series by taking his fourth-straight win in front of a sold-out crowd in the Comcast Arena in Everett Washington.

Blazusiak kicked off the main event by grabbing the Girardi Wealth Management Holeshot award to start the race, after which the factory KTM rider launched himself off the track, dropping him to the rear of the pack and giving Christini/KTM rider Geoff Aaron the lead. Blazusiak was not to be denied, however, and he slowly worked his way back into contention, passing Aaron for the lead on lap seven of the 10-lap final.

Aaron put up a good fight but ultimately lost touch and settled for second ahead of Kawasaki rider Gary Sutherlin.

Earlier in the day, Aaron set the fastest qualifying time during the Pioneer Hot Laps, which puts the riders on the track one at a time to determine the gate picks for the evenings heat races. ZipTy Husqvarna backed Cory Graffunder was second fastest followed by Blazusiak. Aaron also earned a $500 bonus from Rekluse clutch by being the fastest rider using their auto clutch.

Aaron, Blazusiak and Graffunder were the heat race winners, which gave them the critical first picks on the starting gate. After Blazusiak launched off the track and re-entered around mid-pack, it took him less than a lap to work through a lot of carnage and get back to second place but Aaron looked to already have a safe lead. FMF/KTM’s Mike Brown was holding third position and looked set for his first EnduroCross podium of the season but a trip over the bars on the seventh lap pushed him out of contention. Sutherlin qualified for all four main events this season and took a hard earned third place on the podium. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Justin Soule took fourth position ahead of Graffunder. Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker took sixth, Brown was seventh and Kyle Redmond was eighth. Eighteen-year-old Keith Sweeten finished ninth ahead of Kevin Rookstool and Jamie Lanza.


1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)

2. Geoff Aaron (KTM)

3. Gary Sutherlin (Kaw)

4. Justin Soule (Kaw)

5. Cory Graffunder (Hus)

6. Colton Haaker (Kaw)

7. Mike Brown (KTM)

8. Kyle Redmond (Kaw)

9. Keith Sweeten (KTM)

10. Kevin Rookstool (KTM)

by Shan Moore